Old 03-15-2009, 07:42 PM   #1

Year: 1991
Coachwork: gmc
generator problems

hey all. this is my first post on here. my band bought a bus to convert to an rv and it's been tons of problems. anyway, we got a generator from a relative. it's about 2 years old, but has never been used at all, never had any gas or oil in it. it's made by zhejiang robot power machinery, out of china. it's a 3300 watt, 6zhrs, 110/120 VAC, 6.5 hp, 3600 RPM, 60Hz. i don't know what most of that means. i've never used a generator before. anyway, we put about a gallon of regular gasoline, and some 10W-30 oil, and started it up. After about 10 minutes, it started making a really bad sound, like something wasn't working right. also, it wasn't providing us with electricity. the sound went in and out. don't know if that's enough info, but any help would be good. I don't even know where to start. I couldn't find our model on the zhejiang site, so I haven't found an online manual yet, and we didn't get a manual with it from the relative. thanks.
jasonjason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 08:50 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Re: generator problems

i'm assuming that you put the 10w40 oil in the crankcase, and not mixed in with the fuel eh?

did you check to make sure the engine had the proper amount of oil before you started it? too little oil would fry an engine in no time, especially a non-pressure lubricated engine. I assume it is a 4 stroke motor, and not a 2 stroke. I recently saw some new 2 stroke generators in boxes at an auction. A 2 stroke motor would not have oil in the crankcase, but would not burn 10w30 either....

if the generator has been sitting a long time, it's possible that the bearings/bushings for the generator head are rusted and no good. I would have expected bad bearings to start making noise right away though.

does the motor seem to run fine? or does the engine run poorly?
Old 03-16-2009, 09:35 AM   #3
Bus Nut