Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-23-2018, 09:08 AM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 1999
Coachwork: International
Chassis: 3800
Engine: T444EIEIO
Rated Cap: 8 window?
Hello - check in

Greetings Forum:

1st – Thanks to this terrific group for all the hours of entertaining and instructional reading.
2nd – I wish I would have stumbled onto this idea when I was in my 20’s. 38 years later, the Skoolie challenge appeals to me on several different levels that wouldn't be a concern in my younger days.

My bus search has been going on and off for a couple years, I’m a patient guy. Have been looking for a 7-9 window RE or CE bus for a couple years. Several nice ones have surfaced over the years. Because I live in Amarillo TX, I’m probably destined to buy a bus sight unseen. I’m hesitant to pull the trigger on a 20 year old bus that’s 1200 miles away because I have little knowledge on what it takes to get a non-starting bus moving after it’s set for even a short period of time. I don’t mind paying an extra grand for a bus that has recently undergone a maintenance check up by a dealer – if it guarantees me a safe trip home.

Given that set of “minor” problems, Anyplace in particular I should concentrate my search for a RE bus that fits the 7-9 window criteria?

What about the city tranist buses? I don't see lot of discussion about those on here.

The CE buses are easier to find, and I might be better off purchasing one of those anyway. My initial use for the bus will be to camp off the grid, on mildly uneven terrain. Then when I retire in a few years I plan to go on extended trips and would spend more time on the grid in commercial camping areas.

TIA for any advice. Sorry for all the extra words.

Cheers -

mrpincher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 10:16 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643