Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2016, 08:56 PM   #11
Mini-Skoolie
 
cheryl_ann44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 27
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International 3800 chassis
Engine: T444e
Rated Cap: 77
It only reads 1/2 when is actually full
cheryl_ann44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 09:15 PM   #12
Bus Crazy
 
milkmania's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oklahoma aka "God's blind spot"
Posts: 2,241
Year: 1989
Coachwork: 1853FC International/Navistar
Chassis: 35' Retired Air Force Ambulance
Engine: DT466, MT643
Rated Cap: 6 souls and a driver
Double post
__________________
I once complained I had no shoes....
Until I met a man with no feet
milkmania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 09:42 PM   #13
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Garden State (rural NJ)
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheryl_ann44 View Post
It only reads 1/2 when is actually full
Sounds like a new float/sending unit is needed.
BusFiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 10:35 PM   #14
Mini-Skoolie
 
cheryl_ann44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 27
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International 3800 chassis
Engine: T444e
Rated Cap: 77
Well I guess that I'll need to get greasy then cause that thing is nasty
And find that part
cheryl_ann44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 07:18 AM   #15
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 7,202
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
Diesel fuel is pure Hell on sending units.. thus why the hole above it in the bus floor... you may get many many years out of yours but you may also only get a few.. quality of fuel and additives (northern areas of the country) play a big part in how long that sender lasts...

ive seen a lot of people locate a cabinet above it in their bus and simply cut out the cabinet and make a new piece for their cabinet bottom to place there... or as others mentioned you can mark it and make sure its something easy to remove.. school bus gas tanls are in safety cages that are very much a pain to remove to drop the tank..

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 11:17 AM   #16
Bus Crazy
 
Stu & Filo. T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vacaville, Ca
Posts: 1,510
Year: 1988
Coachwork: Crown / Pusher
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Looks to me it's to access the fuel level sensor only, so if it was mine I would cover it & if you ever have a problem with it just drop the tank, it really isn't that hard & I've dropped quite a few fuel tanks & even did the one on my bus with about 60 gal of fuel in it, best way is use a transmission jack with a piece of 3/4 plywood on the jack cut down to what ever size you need to keep it stable.
Stu & Filo. T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 11:20 AM   #17
Bus Crazy
 
Stu & Filo. T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vacaville, Ca
Posts: 1,510
Year: 1988
Coachwork: Crown / Pusher
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheryl_ann44 View Post
Well I guess that I'll need to get greasy then cause that thing is nasty
And find that part
I'm using a fuel tank for my grey tank & this is the new sender I'm using, direct bolt in also.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Stu & Filo. T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 11:33 AM   #18
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Posts: 1,415
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: B3800 Short bus
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu & Filo. T View Post
Looks to me it's to access the fuel level sensor only, so if it was mine I would cover it & if you ever have a problem with it just drop the tank, it really isn't that hard & I've dropped quite a few fuel tanks & even did the one on my bus with about 60 gal of fuel in it, best way is use a transmission jack with a piece of 3/4 plywood on the jack cut down to what ever size you need to keep it stable.
Oh boy.... Have you dropped a school bus tank yet? I have. It's not fun. The tank is usually protected by a cage made out of 3/16" walled 2"x3" steel tube. The cage alone must way close to 200lbs. I'd keep that hatch somewhat accessible. Even if it's inside a cabinet that makes it difficult to reach it'll still be a smaller job than dropping the tank if you need to muck around with the sender.

In regards to the fuel gauge not working, mine was in the same boat. It would always read somewhere around 1/4 tank. The problem ended up being that the wires were corroded. The sender worked fine. I ran new wire, cleaned the contacts on the sender and it's been reliably reporting the tank level since!

Good luck!

EDIT: Oh, and I should add that all that work was easily accomplished by climbing under the bus to run the wire then making the connections through that access hatch. A year after that fix I did end up dropping the tank to paint it, relocate it and mount it with lighter brackets. I made a new access hatch to reach the sender in it's new location.
__________________
My build page: Armageddon - The Smell of Airborne Rust
jazty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 11:44 AM   #19
Bus Crazy
 
Stu & Filo. T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vacaville, Ca
Posts: 1,510
Year: 1988
Coachwork: Crown / Pusher
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazty View Post
Oh boy.... Have you dropped a school bus tank yet? I have. It's not fun. The tank is usually protected by a cage made out of 3/16" walled 2"x3" steel tube. The cage alone must way close to 200lbs. I'd keep that hatch somewhat accessible. Even if it's inside a cabinet that makes it difficult to reach it'll still be a smaller job than dropping the tank if you need to muck around with the sender.

In regards to the fuel gauge not working, mine was in the same boat. It would always read somewhere around 1/4 tank. The problem ended up being that the wires were corroded. The sender worked fine. I ran new wire, cleaned the contacts on the sender and it's been reliably reporting the tank level since!

Good luck!

EDIT: Oh, and I should add that all that work was easily accomplished by climbing under the bus to run the wire then making the connections through that access hatch.
Mine didn't have a cage but it's made from some VERY thick steel, I personally have not seen any Crown with a cage & yes I did remove mine & relocated it about 30in rearward so I could mount another 112 gal tank for my greywater.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0402.jpg (187.1 KB, 7 views)
Stu & Filo. T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 01:07 PM   #20
Almost There
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 75
Year: 2000
Thanks everyone for all the opinions and information!
PowerDaniels is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.