Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2016, 06:38 PM   #1
Almost There
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 83
Year: 2000
HELP! Hole in floor! Need answer ASAP.

Hey guys so I'm just about to put in my flooring tomorrow and there's a hole in the front right side of the bus above the diesel tank that had a metal panel on it originally.

My question and concern is: Will I ever need access to this hole for any reason? Should I cut a hole through my insulation, subfloor etc. to have access to it? Or can I just seal it off and not worry about it?

Here is a picture of what I mean



Any info on this would greatly help, as my time to work on this is limited to the next couple of days.

Thanks!
PowerDaniels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 07:18 PM   #2
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 214
Year: 1997
Coachwork: AmTran
Chassis: Genesis
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 84
You will want access to it. That is how you replace a fuel sender and such.
Timelord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 07:18 PM   #3
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Garden State (rural NJ)
Posts: 378
Does the hole provide access to anything important; fuel pump/filter, hanging hardware, etc?
BusFiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 07:57 PM   #4
Mini-Skoolie
 
cheryl_ann44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 27
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International 3800 chassis
Engine: T444e
Rated Cap: 77
Ok I have same issue with one big question
Is that how I get my dash fuel gauge to read correctly
I thought was gauge but not looking like my problem
__________________
Cheryl Ann
Blessed to be Alive!
cheryl_ann44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 08:02 PM   #5
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Garden State (rural NJ)
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheryl_ann44 View Post
Ok I have same issue with one big question
Is that how I get my dash fuel gauge to read correctly
I thought was gauge but not looking like my problem
What is the problem with it now? Is it at least consistent in the way it reads?
BusFiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 08:05 PM   #6
Almost There
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 83
Year: 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by BusFiend View Post
Does the hole provide access to anything important; fuel pump/filter, hanging hardware, etc?
This is what's inside.

PowerDaniels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 08:20 PM   #7
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Garden State (rural NJ)
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerDaniels View Post
This is what's inside.
Looks like a float/sending unit to me. If you ever need to replace it, to get your gas gauge working again, you'll want access to it.
BusFiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 08:28 PM   #8
Bus Nut
 
Carytowncat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Richmond Virginia
Posts: 932
Year: 1984
Engine: 366 Big block Chevy! :) w/ Stick shift
Hi,

I have a gas motor but also have a plate access in the floor to the sending unit (also known as the gas gauge fuel level sensor, by me because sending unit always trips me up for some odd reason) it is called a sending unit because it "sends" the gas level information (measured in resistance) to the gas gauge.

Goodness can you imagine having to drop the gas tank to replace one? yikes!
Carytowncat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 09:44 PM   #9
Bus Crazy
 
milkmania's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oklahoma aka "God's blind spot"
Posts: 2,361
Year: 1989
Coachwork: 1853FC International/Navistar
Chassis: 35' Retired Air Force Ambulance
Engine: DT466, MT643
Rated Cap: 6 souls and a driver
IF YOU DECIDE TO COVER IT....
Lay down a tape measure and document the outer edges with digital camera... Or phone

Distance from wall, size of circle... Etc.

Digital film is cheap!
__________________
I once complained I had no shoes....
Until I met a man with no feet
milkmania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 09:54 PM   #10
Mini-Skoolie
 
cheryl_ann44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 27
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International 3800 chassis
Engine: T444e
Rated Cap: 77
It only reads 1/2 when is actually full
__________________
Cheryl Ann
Blessed to be Alive!
cheryl_ann44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 09:56 PM   #11
Mini-Skoolie
 
cheryl_ann44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 27
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International 3800 chassis
Engine: T444e
Rated Cap: 77
It only reads 1/2 when is actually full
cheryl_ann44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 10:15 PM   #12
Bus Crazy
 
milkmania's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oklahoma aka "God's blind spot"
Posts: 2,361
Year: 1989
Coachwork: 1853FC International/Navistar
Chassis: 35' Retired Air Force Ambulance
Engine: DT466, MT643
Rated Cap: 6 souls and a driver
Double post
__________________
I once complained I had no shoes....
Until I met a man with no feet
milkmania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 10:42 PM   #13
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Garden State (rural NJ)
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheryl_ann44 View Post
It only reads 1/2 when is actually full
Sounds like a new float/sending unit is needed.
BusFiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 11:35 PM   #14
Mini-Skoolie
 
cheryl_ann44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 27
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International 3800 chassis
Engine: T444e
Rated Cap: 77
Well I guess that I'll need to get greasy then cause that thing is nasty
And find that part
cheryl_ann44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 08:18 AM   #15
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,117
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
Diesel fuel is pure Hell on sending units.. thus why the hole above it in the bus floor... you may get many many years out of yours but you may also only get a few.. quality of fuel and additives (northern areas of the country) play a big part in how long that sender lasts...

ive seen a lot of people locate a cabinet above it in their bus and simply cut out the cabinet and make a new piece for their cabinet bottom to place there... or as others mentioned you can mark it and make sure its something easy to remove.. school bus gas tanls are in safety cages that are very much a pain to remove to drop the tank..

-Christopher
cadillackid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 12:17 PM   #16
Bus Crazy
 
Stu & Filo. T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vacaville, Ca
Posts: 1,623
Year: 1988
Coachwork: Crown / Pusher
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Looks to me it's to access the fuel level sensor only, so if it was mine I would cover it & if you ever have a problem with it just drop the tank, it really isn't that hard & I've dropped quite a few fuel tanks & even did the one on my bus with about 60 gal of fuel in it, best way is use a transmission jack with a piece of 3/4 plywood on the jack cut down to what ever size you need to keep it stable.
Stu & Filo. T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 12:20 PM   #17
Bus Crazy
 
Stu & Filo. T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vacaville, Ca
Posts: 1,623
Year: 1988
Coachwork: Crown / Pusher
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheryl_ann44 View Post
Well I guess that I'll need to get greasy then cause that thing is nasty
And find that part
I'm using a fuel tank for my grey tank & this is the new sender I'm using, direct bolt in also.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Stu & Filo. T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 12:33 PM   #18
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Posts: 1,677
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: B3800 Short bus
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu & Filo. T View Post
Looks to me it's to access the fuel level sensor only, so if it was mine I would cover it & if you ever have a problem with it just drop the tank, it really isn't that hard & I've dropped quite a few fuel tanks & even did the one on my bus with about 60 gal of fuel in it, best way is use a transmission jack with a piece of 3/4 plywood on the jack cut down to what ever size you need to keep it stable.
Oh boy.... Have you dropped a school bus tank yet? I have. It's not fun. The tank is usually protected by a cage made out of 3/16" walled 2"x3" steel tube. The cage alone must way close to 200lbs. I'd keep that hatch somewhat accessible. Even if it's inside a cabinet that makes it difficult to reach it'll still be a smaller job than dropping the tank if you need to muck around with the sender.

In regards to the fuel gauge not working, mine was in the same boat. It would always read somewhere around 1/4 tank. The problem ended up being that the wires were corroded. The sender worked fine. I ran new wire, cleaned the contacts on the sender and it's been reliably reporting the tank level since!

Good luck!

EDIT: Oh, and I should add that all that work was easily accomplished by climbing under the bus to run the wire then making the connections through that access hatch. A year after that fix I did end up dropping the tank to paint it, relocate it and mount it with lighter brackets. I made a new access hatch to reach the sender in it's new location.
__________________
My build page: Armageddon - The Smell of Airborne Rust
jazty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 12:44 PM   #19
Bus Crazy
 
Stu & Filo. T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vacaville, Ca
Posts: 1,623
Year: 1988
Coachwork: Crown / Pusher
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazty View Post
Oh boy.... Have you dropped a school bus tank yet? I have. It's not fun. The tank is usually protected by a cage made out of 3/16" walled 2"x3" steel tube. The cage alone must way close to 200lbs. I'd keep that hatch somewhat accessible. Even if it's inside a cabinet that makes it difficult to reach it'll still be a smaller job than dropping the tank if you need to muck around with the sender.

In regards to the fuel gauge not working, mine was in the same boat. It would always read somewhere around 1/4 tank. The problem ended up being that the wires were corroded. The sender worked fine. I ran new wire, cleaned the contacts on the sender and it's been reliably reporting the tank level since!

Good luck!

EDIT: Oh, and I should add that all that work was easily accomplished by climbing under the bus to run the wire then making the connections through that access hatch.
Mine didn't have a cage but it's made from some VERY thick steel, I personally have not seen any Crown with a cage & yes I did remove mine & relocated it about 30in rearward so I could mount another 112 gal tank for my greywater.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0402.jpg (187.1 KB, 8 views)
Stu & Filo. T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 02:07 PM   #20
Almost There
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 83
Year: 2000
Thanks everyone for all the opinions and information!
PowerDaniels is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×