Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2019, 06:16 PM   #11
Bus Nut
 
musigenesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 375
Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
I just meant the brand was legacy. Those belts are pretty common, still.
__________________
Skookum if ya got 'em
musigenesis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 06:18 PM   #12
Bus Nut
 
musigenesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 375
Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
Quote:
Originally Posted by o1marc View Post
Extremely common belts. These were as easy as typing in "3/8 x 24 V belt" on eBay or google. Every auto parts store is going to stock those belts.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/3-8-x-24-V-...frcectupt=true

https://www.ebay.com/itm/GATES-6726-...frcectupt=true
What's up with the big price difference between these? Seems like they would cost about the same if they were roughly the same thing.
__________________
Skookum if ya got 'em
musigenesis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 06:20 PM   #13
Bus Crazy
 
HazMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: E Central Tejas
Posts: 1,127
Year: 1998
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: IH 3800, 8 window
Engine: T444E w/ Spicer 5-speed MT
Rated Cap: I prefer broad-brims hats
I'd've been surprised if they weren't...
__________________
Those who say that it cannot be done should not interrupt the people doing it.
HazMatt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 06:40 PM   #14
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 6,342
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by musigenesis View Post
No, I meant the 26" belt is supposed to run between the idler (center) pulley and the spindle pulley (front, above the chuck), while the 24" belt is supposed to run between the motor (rear) pulley and the idler pulley. I know that moving the belts up and down the pulleys is what changes the speed, but that's not what I'm talking about.
Then what are you talking about? Could you post a pic? It should have 3 pulleys, all with multiple grooves for changing speeds. The drive pulley has 5, the idler 5 and the motor 3. Giving it 15 speeds.
The motor pullet broke on mine, can
t find a replacement and the repair the machine shop made ended up with my pulley in the trash. I replaced it recently with a 2 pulley bench top press for HF.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190607_193215.jpg (85.2 KB, 5 views)
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 06:49 PM   #15
Bus Nut
 
musigenesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 375
Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
Quote:
Originally Posted by o1marc View Post
Then what are you talking about? Could you post a pic? It should have 3 pulleys, all with multiple grooves for changing speeds. The drive pulley has 5, the idler 5 and the motor 3. Giving it 15 speeds.
The motor pullet broke on mine, can
t find a replacement and the repair the machine shop made ended up with my pulley in the trash. I replaced it recently with a 2 pulley bench top press for HF.
Mine looks the same as yours, only the pulleys have 4 grooves each instead of 5 (so only 12 speeds). Maybe your drill press uses belts of the same length, but mine is supposed to use a 24" belt between the motor pulley and the center pulley and a 26" belt between the center pulley and the drill pulley in front. The way it's currently set up, the 26" belt is running between the motor pulley and the center pulley, and the 24" belt is running between the center pulley and the drill pulley.

It probably won't be long until I realize I would save time and money by just buying a new drill press.
__________________
Skookum if ya got 'em
musigenesis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 07:05 PM   #16
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 6,342
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by musigenesis View Post
Mine looks the same as yours, only the pulleys have 4 grooves each instead of 5 (so only 12 speeds). Maybe your drill press uses belts of the same length, but mine is supposed to use a 24" belt between the motor pulley and the center pulley and a 26" belt between the center pulley and the drill pulley in front. The way it's currently set up, the 26" belt is running between the motor pulley and the center pulley, and the 24" belt is running between the center pulley and the drill pulley.

It probably won't be long until I realize I would save time and money by just buying a new drill press.
The idler pulley is spring loaded. You need to remove either the motor or front pulley in order to install the belt. But the front belt on and then push the idler out and install the belt on it and the motor pulley, drop the pulley over the shaft and tighten it. My motor belt is shorter than the drive belt.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 10:32 PM   #17
Bus Crazy
 
roach711's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Farmington Hills, Mi (Detroit area)
Posts: 1,812
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Eldorado Aerotech 24'
Chassis: Ford E-450 Cutaway Bus
Engine: 7.3L Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 19
Your press looks identical to my Delta. I believe Delta made those for Sears. On the right side of the press there should be a lever near the top of the casting which tensions the belts. On each side of the casting (behind the lever) there should be a thumb screw that locks in the tension.


To untension the belts, loosen the two thumb screws then pull the lever toward you. My manual shows both belts having the same part number but the belts on my press are an A-27 on the front pulleys and an A-25.5 on the back.
__________________
The Roach Motel
roach711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 10:44 PM   #18
Bus Nut
 
musigenesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 375
Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
Quote:
Originally Posted by roach711 View Post
Your press looks identical to my Delta. I believe Delta made those for Sears. On the right side of the press there should be a lever near the top of the casting which tensions the belts. On each side of the casting (behind the lever) there should be a thumb screw that locks in the tension.


To untension the belts, loosen the two thumb screws then pull the lever toward you. My manual shows both belts having the same part number but the belts on my press are an A-27 on the front pulleys and an A-25.5 on the back.
The lever and screws are there, but the problem is that it's already as de-tensioned as possible - the motor is flush with the case, so it can only move outward and increase the tension. I don't know how it could have been set up this way in the first place but that's where I am with it.

I'm going to attempt to follow marc01's suggestion and remove the front pulley. If I can figure out how to do that, I should then be able to swap the belts (which appear to be in good condition) and maybe then the tensioning apparatus will work correctly. If not I'm just going to cut them off and get new belts.
__________________
Skookum if ya got 'em
musigenesis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 11:26 PM   #19
Bus Crazy
 
roach711's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Farmington Hills, Mi (Detroit area)
Posts: 1,812
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Eldorado Aerotech 24'
Chassis: Ford E-450 Cutaway Bus
Engine: 7.3L Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 19
My manual shows an 8mm allen set screw holding the motor pulley to the shaft. Look in the "V" groove on the bottom (largest) pulley for the screw. The front pulley is attached by a big nut on top of the pulley cluster.



Edit: I just looked at mine and the set screw is in the second largest motor pulley. The front pulley nut takes an 1 1/4" socket.


If there's any slack in the belts at all try easing the belt to the next smaller pulley while rotating the pulley. I'd start with the one with the most slack. Once one belt is off the other will slip off easily. If the belts are in good shape (no cracks) I'd reinstall them.
__________________
The Roach Motel
roach711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 08:21 PM   #20
Bus Nut
 
musigenesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 375
Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
So I got the nut off the spindle (front) pulley but I can't get the pulley up. I think I need to use a puller - is this the kind of device I need? https://www.amazon.com/ABN-Inch-2-Ja.../dp/B077K6KYM5

I'm trying to cheap out on this as much as possible, of course.
__________________
Skookum if ya got 'em
musigenesis is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.