Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2019, 10:16 AM   #1
Bus Nut
 
musigenesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 982
Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
Help with welding machine

I am trying to get my welding machine working again for MIG (it was functioning a couple of months ago). The wire is coming out when I press the trigger and I'm getting gas, but I'm not getting any arc. I think my ground connection to the piece is good, but I'm not sure I have my machine set up properly in terms of what gets plugged into what (since I unplugged everything since it was last working).

Here is my setup: https://imgur.com/a/OSbRsmi

Should I have that loose wire plugged into the + port?
__________________
Rusty 87 build thread
musigenesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 10:25 AM   #2
Bus Crazy
 
Sleddgracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: south east BC, close to the Canadian/US border
Posts: 2,004
Chassis: still looking for my bus
Quote:
Originally Posted by musigenesis View Post
I am trying to get my welding machine working again for MIG (it was functioning a couple of months ago). The wire is coming out when I press the trigger and I'm getting gas, but I'm not getting any arc. I think my ground connection to the piece is good, but I'm not sure I have my machine set up properly in terms of what gets plugged into what (since I unplugged everything since it was last working).

Here is my setup: https://imgur.com/a/OSbRsmi

Should I have that loose wire plugged into the + port?
Sleddgracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 10:33 AM   #3
Bus Nut
 
musigenesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 982
Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleddgracer View Post
I guess that means, yes, I should have the damn wire plugged in. My problem is that the machine can also do stick and TIG so I'm not sure about the MIG setup exactly.

I just finished my four-month welding class so you would think I would know this now, but we used different industrial machines so I'm clueless about my own gear. And I still can't weld for crap because a 43-lab hour class ended up being less than 20 thanks to multiple cancellations by the teacher and the lab running out of gas all the time.
__________________
Rusty 87 build thread
musigenesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 10:53 AM   #4
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: West Ohio
Posts: 1,170
Year: 1984
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International 1753
Engine: 6.9 International
Rated Cap: 65
The wire coming out of the bottom left of the machine needs to plug into either the positive or negative slot. Plugging it into the positive slot would set you up to weld dc electrode positive. Do it this way if you're using argon mix as a shielding gas.

If you're welding with flux core wire, you need to switch to dc electrode negative. Which involve you hooking the bottom left wire into the negative slot and the ground cable to the positive slot.
Booyah45828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 11:10 AM   #5
Bus Nut
 
musigenesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 982
Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
Yeah, I needed to plug that loose wire in to the + port. It's working now.
__________________
Rusty 87 build thread
musigenesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 11:55 AM   #6
Bus Nut
 
CMORGANSKOOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Philadelpiha Pennsylvania
Posts: 366
Year: 2007
Coachwork: IC
Chassis: FE Bus
Engine: DT-466 7.6L Turbo Diesel
Rated Cap: 77
I just discovered a newly formed hole in my floor. When you get the welder up and running can I pay you a couple bucks and a visit to weld it for me?
CMORGANSKOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 12:13 PM   #7
Bus Nut
 
musigenesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 982
Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMORGANSKOOL View Post
I just discovered a newly formed hole in my floor. When you get the welder up and running can I pay you a couple bucks and a visit to weld it for me?
Absolutely not ... but I will do it for free.

I have the machine working now, but I still need to see if I can run it off of my generator, since my work spot has no power.
__________________
Rusty 87 build thread
musigenesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 12:19 PM   #8
Bus Nut
 
CMORGANSKOOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Philadelpiha Pennsylvania
Posts: 366
Year: 2007
Coachwork: IC
Chassis: FE Bus
Engine: DT-466 7.6L Turbo Diesel
Rated Cap: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by musigenesis View Post
Absolutely not ... but I will do it for free.

I have the machine working now, but I still need to see if I can run it off of my generator, since my work spot has no power.
Oh boy. My little generator doesn't like to run anything other than small power tools. My buddy used to have a diesel trailer generator to weld with.
CMORGANSKOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 12:23 PM   #9
Bus Nut
 
musigenesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 982
Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMORGANSKOOL View Post
Oh boy. My little generator doesn't like to run anything other than small power tools. My buddy used to have a diesel trailer generator to weld with.
I have a little TailGator from HF that actually works really well for all my power tools, despite them all being rated nominally above 6.5 amps. I know it probably won't work for my welder, but I also have a 2500 watt generator which should have sufficient chooch, if I can get it to start.
__________________
Rusty 87 build thread
musigenesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 08:52 PM   #10
Bus Crazy
 
Sleddgracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: south east BC, close to the Canadian/US border
Posts: 2,004
Chassis: still looking for my bus
Quote:
Originally Posted by musigenesis View Post
Yeah, I needed to plug that loose wire in to the + port. It's working now.


.......................................
Sleddgracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.