Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-11-2016, 01:40 AM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 1984
Engine: 366 Big block Chevy! :) w/ Stick shift
Home Depot bucket for roof vent?

Hi,

I am considerin cutting a hole in the roof with tin snips, installing a home depot bucket down in so that i can put a tight sealin lid on during rain. I have solar and power so i could use a sawzall but most likely will try to tin snip the hole out.

Bucket would sit down in hole with lid above roof, sealant around bucket. I have been considering this idea for two months and figure if i wait long enough the heat will pass and i wont need it.

I am in need of a roof vent. Bus currently does not have any. It means i have to leave all windows open and even then it still doesn't let that heated air rise out.

.I like doing things unconventional and minimalist. So glad i didn't do a great job framing my bed because i just today realized a better spot for it and moved it.

I don't love the conventional roof vent options, and would be excited to do something simple that works, but still uneasy about cutting the roof. I know many people here dive right in and make things work, especually the roof raise. hmmm...

I have considered that tricky part of having to put the lid on when rain is coming, do i climb up top each time and press the tight fitting lid on...

By the way the lip near the top of the bucket that holds the handle on would be the stop and help hold the bucket firmly into place without allowing it to pass deeper into the roof hole. But still i think pressing those tight fitting lids on and off would stress the sealant each time...

I am now looking at roof vents and the price seems much more reasonable than i had considered. Might be a better option than a untested bucket.

Carytowncat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 06:21 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE