Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-11-2018, 09:44 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Hot water?

Ok, newbie here, still at the dreamer stage. Looking at a '99 Blue Bird 84 passenger bus. My goal here is a bus that the significant other and I can live on for 8-9 months a year, as off grid as possible. I'm looking at installing a solar system for electric, and a propane tank for heating and cooling. Probably a composting toilet.
In all the searching I've done for a floor plan I could live with, very few show any water heater. I'm wondering what everybody is using? I plan on being anywhere but Arizona during the summer, and cold showers aren't gonna work for me.
So, propane or electric?

Dave in Tucson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2018, 10:05 PM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC-1000
Engine: 5.9 Cummins 24v
Rated Cap: 39 Students
Preface: I do not live in the busses I convert. I do, however, all of my own building. And I do go camping.

My opinion is electric. I'm a fan of those mini water heaters (about the size of a microwave, usually white with a blue oval on the front) and think they provide adequate hot water for a wash-up. I have one above the slop sink in my garage and have been quite impressed with the heat and volume of water vs electric usage.

Would you be using propane for anything else onboard? That would influence my decision, I suppose. (3-way fridge, gas oven/cooktop, propane or dual fuel generator?)

Sent from my E6883 using Tapatalk
BennysTire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2018, 10:18 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

I looked into the tankless water heaters of the type you describe, and it seemed they are very heavy on the electrical load, with a flow rate adequate for a sink, but I suspect not enough for a shower. Kinda pricey, besides.