Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-06-2017, 02:13 PM   #1

Year: 2003
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Ford E450
Engine: Powerstroke 7.3 Diesel
Rated Cap: 5 window
Red face Insulation in walls and ceiling

I'm new at this. Looking at getting a short bus - probably a 5 window - to convert as a home. I'm prepared to have to insulate the floor properly. Wondering what the consensus is on whether or not the walls and ceiling need to be re-insulated as well. I'd like to avoid as much of the rivet-removal trauma as possible.

Currently in Texas. Hopefully going to get a Texas bus. The bus will likely need to take us to the Pacific North West, but winter will probably be spent a bit further south. I imagine the existing insulation in the ceiling and walls will be sufficient to keep enough heat out in summer (I know AC is our only real hope against Texas sun). How difficult is it to keep a smaller bus warm in winter without a complete re-insultation job?

Otis Tetrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2017, 03:07 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: Cummins 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
So I went through this and let me summarize my findings.

Most buses have a steel outer shell, a steel frame in the middle, and a steel shell on the inside. Then they fill the empty space with insulation. But since you have steel connecting the inside shell to the outside shell, you don't have any sort of thermal break. If it's hot outside, the frame will happily transfer that heat to the inner shell, bypassing the insulation entirely.

So let's talk about options.

You could install a thermal break. Basically you would use some sort of insulating material to prevent the outer shell from touching the frame.Are you going to be able to stop metal-to-metal contact on every bolt and rivet? I doubt it. I know I couldn't, so I didn't do this.