Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-01-2013, 08:30 AM   #1

International 1992 Brake Press Light?

Hello everyone! This is my first time on the Skoolie Forums and my first school bus conversion project!

I ended up getting very lucky through craigslist and got a good deal on a 1992 international that was fleet maintained until just recently. I purchased the bus off a retired bus driver and you could absolutely tell that this bus was her pride and joy. I took the bus home and everything was great.

The next day when I started it up the brake press light came on and a buzzer went off. I did a little research on the forums and lots of people mentioned that it could be something involving the power steering fluid. A friend and I popped the hood, but neither of us could locate the power steering fluid reservoir. The brakes work just fine, and I really don't think there is a problem.

Before I drove the bus home the other day the lady I bought it from pulled a fuse for the overhead flashers. I guess it's a felony to have them on. Does anyone else think this could just be an electrical problem? Any sage advice to go about fixing this?

Thanks everyone!

ihowell2077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 10:20 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Wayne
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 72
Re: International 1992 Brake Press Light?

Does the buzzer stay on, or does it go off after a little bit? What engine do you have? I have a 1991 International with a DT466 and the reservoir is in the front on the driver side, BUT it has NOTHING to do with the brake pressure. Like, absolutely nothing, lol...

Brutus
JakeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 11:16 AM   #3

Not sure what sort of engine I have....I can check once I'm home.