Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-15-2015, 07:35 PM   #1

Just a few questions...

Hello Everyone,

My name is Amanda from Houston and I'm new to all this. I currently do not own my own bus, but I do drive a Propane bus full time for Houston ISD. The reason i got interested in Skoolies is due to driving one all the time and Pinterest. I've seen a lot of posts on there that show just how awesome a school bus can be when it is transformed. So, while looking at different pins I was brought to skoolie.net and here I am. LOL. Anyways, I have some simple questions (I hope) for everyone.

1. Electricity.. How much power does just solar power provide for things like appliances, A/C and heat, and electronics? Is it possible to use multiple types of power at the same time? Such as solar, wind, and generator?

2. Water Tanks.. I know that i will need a fresh water and a grey water tank, possible a black water tank. How big of a tank can you get? My bus (when i get it... 5 year plan) will be used for traveling around the country and doing things like burning man, edc, and other concerts. I want to be able to live in it for a couple of weeks at time, possible have a trailer to pull behind it with extra water tanks.

3. A/C and Heat.. I've been looking at ductless A/C-Heater combos for my garage apartment, and figured that a couple of those would work well for a bus also, but i know that it would have to be hooked up to a generator that runs all the time. And if a generator has to run all the time, can it be ran while the bus is moving down the road?