Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-16-2009, 04:57 PM   #1

Length of bus

Hi everyone. I have been checking the site out for a few months. I am planning on doing a school bus conversion. I have a question, a 40' bus, is that the outside overall length? Or usable inside length? Like from the rear of the drivers seat. Thankyou.

busted knuckles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 08:17 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Re: Length of bus

Though this is not entirely accurate, a good way to quickly determine the length of the bus interior by just looking at a picture of it, is to count the windows. There is roughly 25" of bus for each window or row of seats. Like I said, this is not always accurate, but you'll find it comes out really close!!

You just might be a Redneck if...
...your motor home used to be a school bus!
...Your living room has a steering wheel!
...Your home has brake lights

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee
1989 Thomas Diesel Pusher (Cat 3208/Freightliner)
Chesapeake, Virginia
GoneCamping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 03:56 PM   #3
Skoolie

Year: 93
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: ?
Engine: 5.9 Cummins

mine measures 37 ft exterior and just over 31' behind the driver's seat. It has 13 windows. It is a 93 thomas all star.
swhite832 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 09:38 PM   #4
Almost There

Year: 1988
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: Chevrolet
Engine: 8.2L Detroit Diesel
Rated Cap: 54

Mine is (or was) a 54 passenger with ten windows down each side. It measures about 31' bumper to bumper, with 24' behind the driver's seat.

-Adam
arfisher83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 11:59 PM   #5