Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-11-2006, 02:29 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1986
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: GMC
Engine: 8.2L Detroit Diesel
Rated Cap: 65
lights seem to be shorting - diagnosis?

Hi everyone -- I've got an 86 Carpenter (yeah, I know -- hopefully not rolling over any time soon). Anyway, my problem is that all of a sudden the headlights have decided to operate sporadically -- the high beams are fine, but the low beams go off without rhyme or reason. Even weirder, the low beams somewhat consistently blink off when the brakes are applied. What on earth could create such a collaboration? My husband finally resorted to driving with the high beams on but what a bummer for the oncoming traffic!

Does anyone have any idea where I should look first to track down the problem? I am a complete newbie and have no clue on most things electrical -- but I catch on pretty fast, if you can explain with plenty of detail.

Bought our bus August 7th, 2006 to take a single trip and resell -- now we love it so much, we can't give it up. Just WAY too much fun!!

Thanks so much for being here!!

Mona

Old 10-11-2006, 09:35 PM   #2
wtd
Bus Nut

Year: 1982
Coachwork: Thomas TransitLiner
I'd take a look at the dimmer relay, I'd think that everything else in the headlight system, hot connection, bulb grounds, switch connections, etc. would be common to both high and low beams and any problem would affect both high and low lights.
Old 10-11-2006, 10:38 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Thanks so much -- I'll try to check into the dimmer relay. Is that the button on the floor that you stomp on to change from high to low beams?

I really wish I knew more about all this. I am learning, slowly but surely, but not fast enough for my taste.