Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2015, 10:24 PM   #31
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Stony Plain Alberta Canada
Posts: 2,939
Year: 1992
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: 190hp 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
Any time you involve a computer for the engine, your now at the mercy of the dealerships to fix the bus for you.

If you don't mind paying $125 a hour +, then buy a DT466E.

If you want to save money, and do all repairs your self stay with a 96 and older DT466.

I'm all for the mechanical engines. I would only take a computer model if you gave it to me, and I would sell it as fast as I could. To me the computer is just not necessary.

Nat
__________________
"Don't argue with stupid people. They will just drag you down to their level, and beat you up with experience."

Patently waiting for the apocalypses to level the playing field in this physiological game of life commonly known as Civilization
nat_ster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 12:58 PM   #32
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Utah
Posts: 51
do busses use OBD2?
__________________
follow our adventures at http://themoreweexplore.com
themoreweexplore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 02:32 PM   #33
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Winlcok, WA
Posts: 1,607
Can you explain what OBD2 is?

I have been in the bus business a long time and I don't think I have ever heard of that term before. Or if I have it was known as something else.
cowlitzcoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 02:44 PM   #34
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Snowflake, Arizona
Posts: 324
Year: 1996
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: All American Rear Engine
Engine: C-8.3-300 Cummins MD3060
Rated Cap: 40 Prisoners
OBD2 Stands for On Board Diagnostic version 2, It's the standard interface for
automotive applications. Has a special plug to attach to a reader for reading
computer stored data and accessing trouble codes stored in the computer on
automobiles. I have seen on an occasional medium duty truck but not on a bus.
Of course I've not looked at any buses newer than 1998 so can't verify beyond
that but the medium duty vehicles require different software than light duty for
computer access.
Dragonpop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 03:09 PM   #35
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Winlcok, WA
Posts: 1,607
All of the E buses I have ever seen have had a data port to hook a diagnostic computer up to the onboard computer.

As to which size port it is it sort of depends upon who built the bus.

I know all of the motorcoaches have proprietary systems so what works on an MCI won't work on a Van Hoole.

For instance, if you hook a Detroit or Allison diagnostics up to the data ports on a Van Hoole all you get is gibberish because Van Hoole has added extra lines of code so that standard Detroit or Allison software can't communicate with the Van Hoole hardware.
cowlitzcoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 04:50 PM   #36
Bus Crazy
 
Scooternj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: EHT New Jersey
Posts: 1,134
Year: 2003
Coachwork: AmTran
Chassis: International 3000RE
Engine: T444E/AT545
Rated Cap: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowlitzcoach View Post
All of the E buses I have ever seen have had a data port to hook a diagnostic computer up to the onboard computer.

As to which size port it is it sort of depends upon who built the bus.
The port standards are either J1587 / J1708 or J1939. And, as an example, here's the 1708 port in the engine bay of Captain Obvious-
Scooternj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 11:00 PM   #37
Bus Nut
 
Alan N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Gonvick MN
Posts: 255
Year: 1975
Chassis: Gillig
Engine: Cat 3208t/10 speed transmission
Quote:
Originally Posted by themoreweexplore View Post
I've got time. I'll hold out for the right one.
Before you decide what the right bus for you is drive as many different buses as you can.
You may change your opinion.
__________________
Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.
Alan N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 10:00 AM   #38
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Utah
Posts: 51
That's a great idea, but what's the best way to test drive a variety of busses? I've never driven one, and enterprise doesn't rent them. ;)
__________________
follow our adventures at http://themoreweexplore.com
themoreweexplore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 10:08 AM   #39
Bus Geek
 
EastCoastCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Eustis FLORIDA
Posts: 12,135
Year: 1992
Coachwork: Ward/AmTran
Chassis: International
Engine: dt466
Rated Cap: 78
I've only driven the buses I've owned.
EastCoastCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 10:31 AM   #40
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Winlcok, WA
Posts: 1,607
You will find very few dealers will allow people to test drive their inventory.

Private owners may let you drive. I know I never let anyone drive any buses I owned that I was trying to sell.

I seriously doubt any school would let you test drive a bus.

Most of it has to do with insurance and liability.
cowlitzcoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bus advice, which bus

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.