Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-21-2018, 12:03 AM   #1

Looking for Ideas for the Perfect Bus

Hey all!

I am new to the whole bus conversions. It's a definite goal of mine to build a skoolie with my twin brother and take a summer road trip across the U.S. Thing is, I have no idea on what kind of bus would be good for me and my family. I've tried researching buses and floor plans just to get an idea of spacing and find myself a little overwhelmed. I'd appreciate any and all help that you can offer.

Basically the trip will include myself, my twin brother, older sister, two nieces, my dad, my mom and my dads wife (possibly). So that's 8 all together. I've learned that you can't take a big bus onto back roads or offroading. But I want to visit national parks and visit mountains. I was planning on having two sets if bunk beds (maybe a third) and a single mattress in the back of the bus along with a small kitchen and small bathroom and maybe (if there is room) a small lounge area. I know its a big load but that's why I'd like help. What would you suggest for that many people?

This is still in the planning stages and I'm not intending to buy a bus for quite awhile but might as well start planning no?

Rachal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 12:29 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
"Maybe if there's room, a small lounge area", define "small". If you lounge area is as long as the bus is wide that's about 7.5' x 8'. Find an area at home that size and then stick 8 adults, or 6 adults and 2 nieces in it. Sound pretty cramped? I would suggest s full size 30'-40' for that many people. In a normal situation I would doubt they made a bus big enough for Mom, Dad and Dad's wife.