Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-01-2018, 02:36 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

New member, just made the decision

Hey All,

I have finally made the decision to take steps into building a skoolie. I just want to chat about things people wish they did differently and sort of get a grasp on the best methods and just hear what everyone with experience has to say.

Something interesting I have found is that while looking on Craigslist, it seems that there are a lot of busses that people have started to convert and then gave up and its a little worrisome.

As for what I would like to do, its not really set in stone. I think the perfect size bus for me is one of the 8 window types. They seem long enough to include everything that I want, but are also kind of difficult to find. I think a 6 window bus would be awesome. I have a lot of experience driving one (playing in bands) and it doesnt seem like overkill for me but I havent seen any that include a shower AND toilet. But I occasionally feel that the best deals are on the full size busses.

For example, I am considering checking this one out on Saturday:
https://atlanta.craigslist.org/atl/cto/d/1987-bluebird-all-american/6644059853.html

I also wanted to get a good ball park idea of what people have spent on their homes. I have a close friend that built a 27 foot tiny home for around $7500 and he believes the bus is also doable for slightly less than that price. However, he was patient and waited for a lot of good deals from craigslist and such.

I will probably have at least 12 million more questions but I just wanted to get the topic started.

Thank you!!

britainweyant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 08:55 AM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: International
Engine: DTA360