Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-11-2009, 07:24 AM   #1

NEW SCHOOL BUS CONVERSION - I'm a rookie!!

Hi gang,
Really glad to have found this site. I've been researching pretty heavily for the past month or so. Planning to buy a used school bus to convert into a home on wheels for myself and tour bus for my band. I have learned a lot from reading the posts on this site as well as others.
I am a complete rookie, and the most intimidating part of this whole process is the the actual hands on labor. I am dedicated and disciplined, and good at following through on things. I don't have a collection of power tools, and I don' have a place to work on the bus once I purchase it. So......my first two questions are this:

1. How would you recommend I combat the tool problem? Are there a few basic power tools I can purchase that will get the job done? I intend to fabricate most of the skeletal structure, cabinets, walls, barriers, etc. myself out of wood.

2. How should I go about finding a place to keep the bus while I work on it? I currently live in Las Vegas, NV. I have found a lot of craigslist offers to park your bus on property for a monthly fee, but some of them are not too keen on construction projects if ya know what I mean. Any creative solutions/ideas?

Thanks in advance for the help folks. I've already learned a ton from what I've read, and I'm so excited to get started on this!

Cheers.....

SonicImpulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 08:21 AM   #2

Re: NEW SCHOOL BUS CONVERSION - I'm a rookie!!

Smitty, that post alone was worth it's wait in gold. Thank you so much for the info. That makes it much less intimidating already. I was worried I was going to have to invest in a huge arsenal of tools, but this is totally manageable. Great advice on the parking/storage as well.