Old 11-29-2018, 08:27 PM   #1

New to bus conversions and seeking advice!

Hello!!

My partner and I are new to this and are so excited to get started on our skoolie adventure! We are in the process of researching to try to learn as much as we can before we get started.

I am a teacher and currently living in California has become so expensive. I honestly see most of my paycheck just going to rent. This is why we are seeking out converting a bus into a living space. We have run into trouble finding a place to do the demo and building. Any advice or ideas on this would be so appreciated! We aren't sure if you can demo and build on a residential street, at a storage facility, or a camp ground site? We just can't seem to find the answer to that yet.

Also, thinking way ahead, but once you have your bus built and ready for living in, where do you all usually park it? Have you found that it is easy to park/leave on residential streets? Or is it easier to rent a campsite? Again, any help with these questions would be wonderful.

Thank you in advanced!
partners.on.the.go. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 05:45 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
Best to own a piece of land. Or have a friend who does.
Old 11-30-2018, 08:05 AM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1994
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Where in California? I lived in the Carlsbad area for a few years and couldn't imagine many places to demo and build a bus, I got looks for changing a tire on the street...

Try searching online for contractor space or lay down yards to rent near you.

As far as private campgrounds, I don't think you will get far. I've been living in my partially converted bus for a few months now in NM and Colorado, and consideration of others always prevents me from doing much more than quick, quiet, interior improvements at a pay site. Headed to Florida for the harshest of the winter, and will continue this slow process.

Good luck!