Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

View Poll Results: I'm 6' tall. Too tall for comfort in a skoolie?
No. 6' isn't a big deal. You'll be totally comfortable. 3 30.00%
Yes. You won't have enough headroom. You'll be hunched over all the time. 2 20.00%
Maybe. It all depends on the bus model & design. (If so, suggestions please!) 5 50.00%
Forget it! Walk away now for you get in too deep. 0 0%
Voters: 10. You may not vote on this poll

Old 10-19-2016, 05:37 PM   #1

Newbie w/ lots of questions...#1: Interior Height?

Hello. I’m BRAND NEW to the skoolie concept. I have been considering a tiny house for a while. A friend just suggested that I look at a skoolie instead. I LOVE the idea but I have a million questions before I get started. So here’s my first question…Interior Height? I’m 6-feet tall. Will a skoolie have enough interior headroom for me? (Someone told me that skoolies are only 72” high inside. I don’t want to have to stoop over whenever I move around.)

Any & all feedback will be greatly appreciated!

Padencobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 06:58 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1994
Coachwork: Genesis/Am-Tran Tall Roof
Chassis: International, 643 transmission
Engine: DT 466ci 250hp, International
Rated Cap: 86 screaming Monsters
You need a Thomas 6.5ft or the amtram genesis. mine 78"
Geo Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 07:14 PM   #3

Smile Thanks Jeff. I appreciate your feedback.

Thanks Jeff. I appreciate that info. I've never heard of a Thomas or an Amtram - (seriously, I just started this process 3 days ago) - but I'll research those. They both sound like great options.

I don't really think of 6' as all THAT tall. Surely there's a bus out there that will work for me. Thanks again!
Old 10-19-2016, 07:48 PM   #4
Skoolie