Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-08-2010, 10:02 AM   #1

Newbie with long explanation

Hi, I'm a newbie here, but not without prior convictions that a skoolie way of life is an answer. First let me intro my queer as a nine pound note gearhead self. (If it's not cool to be queer here, then I'll leave quietly, I'm no crusader for anything) Anyway, I was in about 7th grade, in a Connecticut public school, and given daily half sheets of 8 1/2 by 11 math paper for use in class for calculations about which I had no clew and no likely help from the teacher who was also a coach. I was always the last one picked for any team, and not likely to make any kind of home run or goal and far too many zits to be popular, and so spent all math class and that half size paper designing interiors that could make a school bus a mobile living space. I had the idea of escape to avoid drowning from having my head flushed in the locker room. My imaginary designs surely included wood stoves and bunks and ways to keep things hot and cold. At that time I had read " My Side of the Mountain" and " Mrs. Mike" , both books on people escaping to the hinterlands to avoid the pressure of their normal lives. Jump ahead......

I'm now looking 60 smack in the face, and probably a bit too long in the tooth to be considering this.... But I decided to write a book where the characters are based in a skoolie, and I describe the design etc. as the characters go through their experiences of the story.