Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2015, 06:06 PM   #1
Skoolie
 
timbrass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 114
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466e
Rated Cap: 29
Odometer not working

My Odometer is not working.... any ideas on how to figure out the cause on a DT466e. I'm not sure which cable to check... if anyone has a photo that would be great!
__________________
My Build site is http://schoolbusconversion.net
timbrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 06:26 PM   #2
Bus Crazy
 
somewhereinusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Andrews,Indiana
Posts: 1,636
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 3116 Cat 250hp
Rated Cap: Her, me and Molly
Does the speedometer work and not the odometer?. Is the odometer mounted in she speedometer, or on a separate panel? Pretty sure a 2002 would have an electronic speedometer/odometer.
somewhereinusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 06:55 PM   #3
Skoolie
 
timbrass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 114
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466e
Rated Cap: 29
Speedometer works as do all other guages Odometer is mechanical display separate from speedometer on dashboard.
Stopped working in last 300 miles....

__________________
My Build site is http://schoolbusconversion.net
timbrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 07:00 AM   #4
Bus Crazy
 
somewhereinusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Andrews,Indiana
Posts: 1,636
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 3116 Cat 250hp
Rated Cap: Her, me and Molly
Afraid I can't help much. If it truly is mechanical, typically the cable runs either from the transmission or the left front wheel. I'm still going to go with electronic in that new of a bus.

For the things that aren't actually bus related, have you tried searching any other forums? Or done a general web search?
somewhereinusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 06:49 PM   #5
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 1,328
Year: 2000
Chassis: Blue Bird
Engine: ISC 8.3
Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhereinusa View Post
Afraid I can't help much. If it truly is mechanical, typically the cable runs either from the transmission or the left front wheel. I'm still going to go with electronic in that new of a bus.
Same here.. I'd truly be surprised if it is cable driven. It's probably easy enough to lift the cluster out and have a peek; a mechanical drive cable will be easy to identify once the back side of the assembly is visible. If indeed it does have a mechanical cable, then you can start troubleshooting whether the cable end turns, if not then trace it out to find the other end..
family wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 07:43 PM   #6
Site Team
 
crazycal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,087
When you started your bus, did the needles go all the way to the end and come back?
__________________
I'm hungry!

You Gotta Let Me Fly
crazycal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2015, 06:04 PM   #7
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 10
International has a huge problem with the dash assembly --- It is basically a circuit board- when they crack- then you are not getting a reading on the gages. Hit a bump and the darned things start working again. I have been dealing with the broken circuit board since 2008 ( i cant see forking out $1200 bucks for a new assembly).
The fix i have been told is to find the crack and soldier a jumper across the break. Something about magnet flux and a ohm meter.

Another fix is to buy a GPS unit and mount it . its alot cheaper than the Navistar FIX.

BUT If your unit is not equipped with the circuit board unit... then go to the cable and chase it down. Some times on the computer controlled units a good cleaning and lubing of the three connectors will bring things up to speed. The round shapped plug ins sometimes get loose and dusty. Good luck finding the electrical issue.
I long for the simple old units.
JAck
Dirtdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2015, 06:22 PM   #8
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Snowflake, Arizona
Posts: 323
Year: 1996
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: All American Rear Engine
Engine: C-8.3-300 Cummins MD3060
Rated Cap: 40 Prisoners
I see on some of the newer vehicles they are not offering an exact mileage
on the buses. Probably a pattern failure item. Another alternative is to install
a Hubmeter or is that a Hubometer can't remember getting old. Its a unit that
mounts on the end of the axle and records the revolutions of the wheel to
show mileage traveled. You could probably pick one up at a truck wrecking
yard fairly reasonable.
Dragonpop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.