Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-18-2017, 10:08 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Please help narrow down my search!

Hello all, I posted this question in the new member's forum, but thought maybe it would be more appropriate here. I'm new to the whole skoolie thing myself, though my brother-in-law (jMyles) and his family have been doing it for about two years and has had help from this forum in the past. I've been stalking the forums for a couple weeks, looking at lots of people's builds and advice. Any help with narrowing down our search criteria would be extremely helpful.

A little about us:
We are two adults, one toddler and another one planned for next year. My wife is headed to grad school next year and we're exploring alternatives to the underwhelming suburban lifestyle we are currently in. As a nurse, she has the option to do locum tenens work, or temporary assignments for several months at a time. We've been discussing it for a few years now, as well as tiny house/minimalist living, and a skoolie seems like a great way to do both. I'm an engineer and rather handy for basics like plumbing and electrical, but have no experience (yet) with metalwork or carpentry, though I definitely want to learn. We'd like to be able to be off-grid for a few days at a time as well as use alternative energy sources, though that would be a long term goal. We'll need laundry on the bus as we use cloth diapers.

Our criteria for a bus: