Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-31-2010, 11:37 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1989
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: TC 2000 FE
Engine: Cummins 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
Raising the Floor

I'm a newbie here. I've recently bought a 1989 Blue Bird TC2000 front engine bus.
It's equipped with the Cummins 5.9 and Allison AT545 transmission.
It's rated for a capacity of 72 (12 window bus).

I've read all the posts about raising the roof, but I am considering raising the floor and the roof.
I would like to build a subframe on top of the chassis frame rails to raise the floor approximately 9-10 inches.
By doing so, I could clear the wheel wells and have a totally flat floor to work with.

I would then do the traditional roof raise for headroom.

Has anyone considered doing this? or better yet, have done this that could give advice and pictures?

I realize this would raise the center of gravity, but do you think it would make the bus too unstable?

Your input is welcome.

reb336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 12:33 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Re: Raising the Floor

I think that while what you propose is certainly doable, that it will take a lot of time, effort, and money to do it right.

I'm planning a roof raise (this spring I hope), and plan to eliminate the wheel hump problem by building a secondary floor inside, higher than the wheel humps, with steps down to the drivers area. I will keep my tanks between the two floors, with them kept inside the thermal envelope. I will also use that area for extra storage, etc. I don't know yet exactly how much that floor will be above the existing floor, but I'm thinking somewhere between 12" and 24" up.

The basement area under the original floor will have fuel tanks, propane, battery banks, generator(s), and some exterior accessible storage.