Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-04-2010, 11:36 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1983
Coachwork: International
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466
Red Hot Fuse Relay.

I have an '88 Ford B700 Diesel bus conversion which I am preparing for a huge road trip next week. I just realized a running light fuse/relay (gray metal thing looks like a fuse) which controls my running lights, dash lights, horn is becoming red hot and is loose in the socket as well....I have zero knowledge of electrical systems....can anyone enlighten me on what could be causing this and where I should start as far as diagnosing and fixing this problem as quickly as possible. Thanks!

GonzoStreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 12:21 PM   #2

Year: 1995
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: 3800
Engine: DT408, AT545
Rated Cap: 23 500 gvw
Re: Red Hot Fuse Relay.

When you say red hot, do mean the metal is actually glowing red? If that is the case, I would pull the relay to avoid a possible fire until you track down the problem.

You Gotta Let Me Fly
crazycal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 06:16 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Go to a ford dealership!! explain it and ask them to come outside and take a look. if its not a light or something i would so pull that. find it odd a 88 has driving lights...
Stuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 06:04 PM   #4
Mini-Skoolie

Thanks guys for the info...I have replaced the fuse with the closest thing i could find from advance auto....still not working and still getting hot....im def. not using it till i figure out whats going on...im just glad I noticed it before I got on the road! Any other ideas now that I have changed the fuse and still cant get the lights to work? When I was using the old fuse i could wiggle it and get the lights to come on but with the new one ive got nothing...
Old 06-06-2010, 06:29 PM   #5
Bus Crazy