Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-09-2019, 07:19 PM   #1
Bus Crazy

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 2 elderly children, 1 cat
Roof raise thoughts

First, I am not a structural or automotive engineer. I am a retired pole climbing, dirty old linemen.
I have no experience doing roof raises.
I am NOT anti-roof raise.

I have been poking around the internet, looking at the way buses are built.

Skoolies are not built like other buses.

Big old over the road tour buses have a truss frame that doesn't rely on roof/walls for stability. A Skoolie needs it's box intact to be strong.

Build the crap out of your roof raise, return the box to it's original integrity.

These observations are probably worth what you paid for them.

We all know what a Skoolie looks like with the roof (and walls) cut off.
This is what a big bus looks like in the same condition.

I find this very interesting, you may not.
Attached Thumbnails
Typical big bus.jpg  

Old 06-09-2019, 07:52 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466e
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2kool4skool View Post
First, I am not a structural or automotive engineer. I am a retired pole climbing, dirty old linemen.

Big old over the road tour buses have a truss frame that doesn't rely on roof/walls for stability. A Skoolie needs it's box intact to be strong.

Build the crap out of your roof raise, return the box to it's original integrity.