Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2015, 12:20 AM   #1
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,408
Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison 545
Rated Cap: 2
rooftop ac replacement reccomendations

one has stopped working and its getting hotter.

im no expert......any advice, brands, features, im all ears.

whats cool in A/C?
__________________
.
Turfmobile Build Thread
turf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 07:11 AM   #2
Bus Geek
 
EastCoastCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Eustis FLORIDA
Posts: 12,182
Year: 1992
Coachwork: Ward/AmTran
Chassis: International
Engine: dt466
Rated Cap: 78
I think they're all about the same.
Dometic and Coleman are two popular choices.
I personally don't buy Atwood or Norcold products...
EastCoastCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 07:57 AM   #3
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 332
Year: 1995
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: International
Engine: 466DT
Rated Cap: 65
I bought a 15,000 btu Dometic when I first started my bus build 5yrs ago. I haven't had any problems with it. I bought it new. Last fall I decided to add a second one. Started watching craigslist. A 13,500 Dometic, 4 years old showed up for $350. I bought it and works great. It's a year newer then my first one. Really have to be careful on Craigslist though. I bought another one first from a guy who said it worked great. As soon as I got home a hooked it up and the motor was froze up. I was back at his door within the hour and demanded my money back. He gave it back.
Hvbuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 10:36 AM   #4
Bus Nut
 
dredman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Moving thru America
Posts: 527
Year: 2003
Coachwork: Blue Bird
I thought I could get by with vent fan, and pull air thru. I live in Alabama. That strategy does not work. Gonna try a window unit today sometime. If I like it might get 2.

If that does not work, I am gonna start a bakery...... cookies, bread, molten steel, etc.....
dredman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 11:35 AM   #5
Bus Geek
 
EastCoastCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Eustis FLORIDA
Posts: 12,182
Year: 1992
Coachwork: Ward/AmTran
Chassis: International
Engine: dt466
Rated Cap: 78
Where ya planning on putting that window unit?
I'm going to stick a tiny 5k unit in one of the back window spots by the back door.
EastCoastCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 12:42 PM   #6
Bus Crazy
 
milkmania's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oklahoma aka "God's blind spot"
Posts: 2,241
Year: 1989
Coachwork: 1853FC International/Navistar
Chassis: 35' Retired Air Force Ambulance
Engine: DT466, MT643
Rated Cap: 6 souls and a driver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hvbuzz View Post
Really have to be careful on Craigslist though. I bought another one first from a guy who said it worked great. As soon as I got home a hooked it up and the motor was froze up. I was back at his door within the hour and demanded my money back. He gave it back.
you got lucky!


most people would have said you damaged it upon install
__________________
I once complained I had no shoes....
Until I met a man with no feet
milkmania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 01:04 PM   #7
Bus Geek
 
Tango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 6,173
Year: 1946
Coachwork: Chevrolet/Wayne
Chassis: 1- 1/2 ton
Engine: Cummins 4BT
Rated Cap: 15
If you have the underbelly space, it is not that difficult to create a "basement" A/C system using a fairly large & efficient window unit similar to what they put into the high-dollar coaches these days. And it doesn't take much in the way of ducting to get the air where you want it. Just wish I had the space under my shorty to go that route.

Personally, I have a loathing of all the "RV roof-top units".
Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 01:27 PM   #8
Bus Crazy
 
opus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 1,615
Year: 1995
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: All-American R/E
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tango View Post
Personally, I have a loathing of all the "RV roof-top units".
Agreed. Most I ride have 5 on the roof. You need a substation to run them!
opus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 02:15 PM   #9
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,408
Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison 545
Rated Cap: 2
fortunately....
i do have a built in substation..... ima packing my 12.5kw genny
__________________
.
Turfmobile Build Thread
turf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 02:30 PM   #10
Bus Crazy
 
opus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 1,615
Year: 1995
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: All-American R/E
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
Gee...I still use a 4kw/115v
opus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.