Old 03-23-2019, 11:12 AM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 2004
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Saf T Liner MVP 11 window 32’
Engine: CAT 3126E
Rated Cap: 72
Rust converter preference

I have very little experience at most of what it takes to turn a bus into a livable space. We're so early in our conversion that I don't feel comfortable offering solutions...even opinions for that matter. However, maintenance painting is something I do know a little about, so here goes. I feed my kids and pay my bills by working on tugboats. Tugboats are generally steel & work in saltwater. Preventative maintenance is part of the job. Most in the industry supply their paint lockers with Corroseal. As a young sailor I once was chastised & sent back to the marine supply store because I came back to the boat with a case of Ospho. "Do you want to paint the stern again next hitch or next year?"

Without question, prep is the most important phase of the paint process. Dealing with rust is paramount if you want the bus to last. There's a reason rust is sometimes referred to as cancer. Dang I hate painting boats...in fact, painting and crawling beneath the double bottoms of barges is what motivated me to get in the wheelhouse as fast as I could.

Finding a bus with little or no rust was a HUGE priority of mine. We have a tiny bit of surface rust on the inside, around the wheel wells. Nothing a wire wheel wont clean up, but I'm still going to Corroseal them. There are many instances where using the highest quality products are not as important to me, but this one is.

All of this said, be careful...all I wrote just the opinion & preference of a few sailors

tugboat.jpg
Old 03-23-2019, 03:29 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Keeping with the fishing metaphor, you just opened a can of worms.

The good news, is they're all hard-working but opinionated worms.