Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-16-2008, 09:50 PM   #1

RV Door?

Hi! I'm a newbie, just bought my first bus, and '87 IHC, all I've done so far is rip the seats out, but looking at the structural integrity/energy efficiency of the factory door, I'm just not convinced. Has anyone put an RV door on their bus, or know how much they run price wise? I'm trying to do this thing on a college student budget.

Human_Writes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2008, 11:40 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Re: RV Door?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Human_Writes
Has anyone put an RV door on their bus, or know how much they run price wise? I'm trying to do this thing on a college student budget.
Yes I have. At used RV parts houses I have seen plenty of complete doors sell at about $180.00. I paid $50.00 for mine at the local salvage store.

More photos
Abbott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 09:05 PM   #3
Almost There

Year: 1988
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: Chevrolet
Engine: 8.2L Detroit Diesel
Rated Cap: 54

I can't give you any useful information on a used RV door but I might recommend a storm door from Menards or Lowe's etc. I paid $94.00 for a Larsen storm door that fit almost perfectly. I added a lot of extra screws to make sure it is secure for road travel, and I added a lot of weatherstripping for a tighter seal. You can see my door in my pics of Buscephus by clicking the link below.

-Adam
arfisher83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 10:17 AM   #4
Bus Nut

Year: 1976
Coachwork: bluebird
Chassis: F33695
Engine: 427 chevy converted to 466
Rated Cap: 84