Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2019, 04:12 PM   #1
Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Miami, Fl.
Posts: 154
Year: 1999
Chassis: Amtran / International
Engine: DT466E-Md3060
RV driver license requirements - State Listings

Here is a listing I found showing what is required from each state to drive an RV.

From my basic non professional understanding, what your HOME state requirement is , and the tag on the bus should be from your home state, follows you across the country as you drive away into the sunset.

SOURCE:-> https://www.campanda.com/magazine/rv...-requirements/


States That Require A Commercial Driver’s License
  • Arkansas: CDL required for vehicle over 26,000 lb
  • Connecticut: CDL (Class B) required for single vehicle over 26,000 lb; CDL (Class A) required for multiple vehicles with combined weight over 26,000 lb
  • Hawaii: CDL (Class B) required for single vehicle over 26,000 lb; CDL (Class A) required for multiple vehicles with combined weight over 26,000 lb
  • Kansas: CDL (Class B) required for single vehicle over 26,000 lb; CDL (Class A) required for multiple vehicles with combined weight over 26,000 lb
  • New Mexico: CDL (Class B) required for single vehicle over 26,000 lb; CDL (Class A) required for multiple vehicles with combined weight over 26,000 lb
  • Washington, D.C.: CDL (Class B) required for single vehicle over 26,000 lb; CDL (Class A) required for multiple vehicles with combined weight over 26,000 lb
  • Wisconsin: CDL required over 45 feet
States That Require A Non-Commercial Special Driver’s License
  • California: Class B license required over 26,000 lb or over 40 feet; Class A license required for towing over 10,000 lbs
  • Maryland: Class B license required over 26,000 lb
  • Michigan: Recreational Double “R” Endorsement required to tow a fifth wheel plus a trailer (it’s unlikely that you’ll ever need this)
  • North Carolina: Class B license required for single vehicle over 26,000 lb; Class A license required for multiple vehicles with combined weight over 26,000 lb
  • Nevada: Class B license required for single vehicle over 26,000 lb; Class A license required for multiple vehicles with combined weight over 26,000 lb; “J” Endorsement required to tow a vehicle over 10,000 lb (if the combined weight is less than 26,000 lb)
  • New York: Recreational Vehicle or “R” endorsement required for vehicles over 26,000 lb
  • Pennsylvania: Class B license required for single vehicle over 26,000 lb; equired for multiple vehicles with combined weight over 26,000 lb
  • South Carolina: Class E license required for single vehicle over 26,000 lb; Class F license required for multiple vehicles with combined weight over 26,000 lb
  • Texas: Class B license required for single vehicle over 26,000 lb; Class A license required for multiple vehicles with combined weight over 26,000 lb
  • Wyoming: Class B license required for vehicle over 26,000 lb and towing under 10,000 lb; Class A license required for vehicle over 26,000 lb and towing over 10,000 lb
States That Do Not Require A Special Driver’s License

The following states do not require a special driver’s license to drive an RV. Where possible, we have provided links to the relevant state laws where the exemption for recreational vehicles can be found. Remember: When in doubt, contact your local DMV.
Alabama (Ala. Code § 32-6-49.7)
Montana (§ 61-1-101, MCA.)
Alaska (AS § 28.90.990)
Nebraska (Neb. Rev. Stat. § 60-465)
Arizona (Ark. Code § 28-3102)
New Hampshire (N.H. § Saf-C 1801.02)
Colorado (Colo. Rev. Stat. § 42-2-402)
New Jersey (N.J. Rev. Stat § 39:3-10.11)
Delaware (Del. Admin. Code tit. 2 § 2213)
North Dakota (N.D.C.C. § 39-06.2-06)
Florida (Fla. Stat. § 332.53)
Ohio (Ohio Rev. Code § 4506.3)
Georgia (OCGA § 40-5-142)
Oklahoma (47 O.S. § 1-107.4)
Idaho (I.C. § 49-302)
Oregon (Or. Rev. Stat § 801.20
Illinois (625 ILCS § 5/6-500)
Rhode Island (31 R.I. Gen. Laws § 10.3-16)
Indiana (CDL Manual)
South Dakota (S.D. Codified Laws § 32-9-3)
Iowa (Iowa Code §321.176A)
Tennessee (T.C.A § 55-50-102)
Kentucky (KRS § 281A-050 and CDL Manual)
Utah (Utah Code § 53-3-102)
Louisiana ( LSA-RS § 32:40
Vermont (23 V.S.A § 39-4103)
Maine (29A M.R.S § 1252 and CDL manual)
Virginia (Code § 46.2-341.4)
Massachusetts (DMV.org)
Washington (RCW 46 25-050)
Minnesota (Minn. Stat. § 169.011 or driver’s manual)
West Virginia (W. Va. Code § 17E-1)
Mississippi (Miss. Code § 63-1-203)
Missouri (MO Rev Stat § 302.775)
ewo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 04:18 PM   #2
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 8,298
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Or into the sunrise.
Registered in Vt. Licensed in Ga., I'm good.
o1marc is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×