Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-28-2007, 02:48 PM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 1950
Coachwork: don't know
Chassis: cheverolet
Engine: to be determined
Rated Cap: 28
rv potties 101

As most of you know I'm new to rviing and skoolies.
So its back to skool for me.
Yes this may be the most ignorant question to ask but here it goes
a guy has to learn to crawl before he can walk

why are the toilets in a rv different than in a home. In the really big three figure rvs a real toilet can be found, so why can't we.
My wife hates rv toilets so it is important for me to either

a. put real toilet in

or

b. find an explaination she can live with
and learn like
of why its not possible.

dale

delbertinie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 03:33 PM   #2
Skoolie

Re: rv potties 101

oh I also wanted to know on black water tanks does anybody add a fresh water line to clean out the tank after the dump then dump again to make sure solid waste is not hanging around? i would think that this would solve 2 problems 1 an extra clean tank. and when you are leaving camp less water weight to carry home.

also i was toying with the idea of add a sennding unit out of a fuel tank and adding guages to know when my tanks are getting full, and or my fresh watter is low.
good idea bad?
dale
Old 07-28-2007, 05:23 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Send a message via MSN to the_experience03 Send a message via Yahoo to the_experience03

I think RV toilets tend to be different to save on water consumption and holding tank size. I'm also not sure how well water sloshing around in the tank would be in a real toilet going down the road. I'm sure you'll come up with a creative solution to all those problems.

For cleaning it out they do make a jet nozzle similar to a sewer snake. If you are planning on putting a permanent fitting they make those too.

http://www.campingworld.com/browse/prod ... rodID=4969