Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-15-2016, 10:54 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

School Bus Conversion Questions

Hello, New member here.

I am wanting to build a dual purpose bus, RV and car hauler. One advantage is the car I will be hauling will be small, only 13' but we want it inside the bus as opposed to behind.

Since it's only 13' if I buy a 78-84 passenger bus I can store it behind the wheel wells. Everything forward would be the RV portion.

My first question is regarding the bus model. I am brand new to this so if this seems a silly question I apologize.

Not sure if I want to make the back portion where the car is stored a flatbed or enclosed. If I were to buy a diesel pusher can you make a flatbed or would that mess up the structural integrity?

What model would be best (in the 78-84 passenger models) to make a flatbed portion in the rear?

BigPaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 11:24 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

You would not be able to use a rear engine model of any kind--the engine would get in the way of loading your car.

There have been several tow companies that have repurposed school buses and chopped off a lot of the body and then installed a rollback to tow cars and have room for all of the passengers that were in the car.

I have seen both Type 'C' (conventional with the engine out front under a hood with the service door behind the front axle) and Type 'D' FE (flat front with the engine in front and the service door in front of the front axle).

Both types would lend themselves well to your purpose.