Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-28-2007, 12:19 PM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 1990
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: All American RE
Engine: Cummins 8.3
Rated Cap: 84
Seeking a good reference on compressed air systems

Hi All:

I am seeking a good book or web site with lots of information on the compressed air systems used in buses, etc. I found "Air Brakes & Accessories for Coach Conversions" by George Myers and I am thinking about ordering it. Does anyone have any experience with this book? Can you comment on it? A good value?

Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I am new to buses, air brakes, air throttle, etc and I want to understand those systems well and maintain them well.

It seems that my "wet tank" (is that the right term - that's what the previous owner called it) is getting lots of sludge in it - has to be drained daily and I am not sure if that's normal or not.

thanks again! - Tony

dentarthurdent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 04:15 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Send a message via MSN to the_experience03 Send a message via Yahoo to the_experience03
Re: Seeking a good reference on compressed air systems

I will ask the guys over at the diesel program at school what book they use for their 5 credit (!) air brakes class.
Old 11-29-2007, 09:05 PM   #3
Skoolie

That would be great!
Old 11-30-2007, 06:45 PM   #4
Bus Nut

how about this here? http://www.gnb.ca/0276/vehicle/pdf/ab_manual-e.pdf right click on the link and choose "save target as"
84 page PDF manual from the province of NewBrunswick with colour pictures and all. happy reading to you.
swinada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 11:52 PM   #5
Bus Geek

Year: 1992
Chassis: TC-2000 Frt Eng, Tranny:MT643
Engine: 5,9 Cummins

Regarding your wet tank sludge: