Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-30-2014, 05:09 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Skoolie conversion for DOT legal 5th wheel hauler?

I'm a tech at a Dodge dealership where I often see 5th wheel Haulers who haul for a living. But the price tag for these rigs are pricey, and still no sleeper space!

Enter a skoolie conversion. This is one of those ideas swirling around in my head that will probably never happen, but definitely food for thought.

Since I don't own a school bus, nor have a hauled, I have some obvious questions. My conversion idea would be to move the back wall up for a small sleeper space, microwave, fridge, maybe a sink.

Would DOT even let this fly? A vehicle not designed for this kind of hauling be legal for commercial use? We know it can handle it but....liability?

Transmission/gearing- I'm assuming this would be a big drawback. In fact to make it worth it, I'm sure some money would need to be spent in this area. What transmission would be advantageous?

Air suspension - When unloaded, I'm sure this will make a big difference in ride. Is air suspension common on school busses?

Deck height - would a 5th wheel mount on a skoolie frame be too high?

When you calculate lower fuel mileage vs. a 3500 truck, conversion costs', transmission change, would it even be worth it?
Thanks in advance...

Stilldream'n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2014, 09:56 PM   #2
Skoolie

Might be able to get away with it if you're doing for private use, but I imagine you're looking for all sorts of problems with hauling commercially. I think your overall length might be too long too unless you're using a shortbus. But I don't really know **** about DOT regulations so I'm pretty much talking out of my ass.
Old 12-31-2014, 09:04 AM   #3
Skoolie

Year: 1977
Coachwork: Chevy
Chassis: C/60
Engine: 350 V8
Rated Cap: 54