Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-25-2014, 05:57 PM   #1

SKOOLIE - tool wishlist?

Hello, all! New here, in the early stages of planning a conversion. I tried posting this earlier but missed the notice to include "SKOOLIE" in my first post (sorry!) so it was not published.

Anyway, I was hoping for some advice on budgeting for tools and equipment for the conversion process, including which are best borrowed/rented (limited use) and which are best bought/kept (for maintenance on the road). We have a lot of basic home tools like drills, nailers, sanders, recip. saw, shop vac, dremel, etc., we don't have bigger equip. like a jigsaw or power miter box.

I'd also love some advice on whether we should seek out apprenticeships or take courses at our local technical schools to pick up skills before we buy our bus. My husband is an engineer by trade and an avid handyman around the home. He does most of our car repairs/maintenance, as well as some basic framing carpentry (closing off our porch), wiring and plumbing. For my part, I learned basic woodworking and gas welding for sculpture courses in art school, and I do a lot of home sewing including basic upholstering. We are both good with our hands and we are both quick learners. But we have never embarked on a project this big!