Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-28-2015, 06:37 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2000
Rated Cap: 77
Skoolies in Virginia

Hello all,
How many Skoolies do we have in Virginia? We are located in the Tidewater area and wondered how many others are in the state.

Reddogleader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 01:02 PM   #2

Hi Reddog! I purchased a bus in Charlottesville, and while we're currently located in a border-county of WV, I'll be returning to Charlottesville with the bus in a few months and still consider it a Virginia bus
qqqkkkrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 02:00 PM   #3
Bus Geek

I graduated from Albemarle High, and got out of VA quickly
bansil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 01:50 AM   #4
Mini-Skoolie

Quote:
Originally Posted by qqqkkkrs View Post
Hi Reddog! I purchased a bus in Charlottesville, and while we're currently located in a border-county of WV, I'll be returning to Charlottesville with the bus in a few months and still consider it a Virginia bus
Hi qqqkkkrs and Reddogleader!!

I am about to take the plunge into the Skoolie world. My insurance company - State Farm - is telling me that RV insurance is very "minimal". The kicker is that it has to be registered as an RV and they say that their underwriters will need to verify that the bus is an RV.

My question is, does the VA DMV need to be convinced that the bus is a mobile home? I found the VA state code listing the requirements a vehicle needs to be considered a mobile home.

How did you prove to the DMV that the vehicle met these requirements?
Anyone just register their bus as a truck? If so, can you still drive it with a regular license?

I'd like to know how all this works specifically before I take the plunge. Trying to minimize my run-around time...
whirlygigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 09:05 AM   #5
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2000