Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2019, 11:02 AM   #11
Site Team
 
JDOnTheGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: The West
Posts: 962
Year: 1998
Coachwork: MCI
Chassis: 102 EL3
Engine: DD 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie23 View Post
My panels are in parallel, 4 100watt at 12volt 33.3amp
I'm reading between the lines a wee bit here but it might be useful for anyone reading this to know that a "12 volt" panel is fairly generic. It's similar to saying that we have a 12 volt battery. It really isn't 12 volt but we all know that. We also know that a 12 volt battery (which is more like a 12.6 volt battery) requires more than 12 volts to charge (more like 14 volts, depending on the battery type and state of charge). Since you have them connected in parallel and given the info that Steve provided (max voltage that CC can handle), my suggestion is not of any value - you are well under the 100 volt max. However; that 12 volt panels might be producing more like 18 volts (or anything in between). Apologies...
__________________
JD - Full timer out west
Missy - 1998 MCI 102-EL3 - 1.7kW Solar - 10kWh Lithium
My Adventures & Build
JDOnTheGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 11:03 AM   #12
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 4,583
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
Rated Cap: 72
When you parallel more than two panels you should have a fuse or breaker for each panel.

This is commonly done with a combiner box with a breaker for each leg.

Like this one: https://www.solar-electric.com/mnpv6...EaAvW8EALw_wcB
PNW_Steve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 02:00 PM   #13
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: ND
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by PNW_Steve View Post
When you parallel more than two panels you should have a fuse or breaker for each panel.

This is commonly done with a combiner box with a breaker for each leg.

Like this one: https://www.solar-electric.com/mnpv6...EaAvW8EALw_wcB
There are fuses on all my panels and I have a fuse box, here are some pictures of my setup
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 7BDCA3C7-2D67-4A6E-B67B-8AE0D95D8FBA.jpg (196.0 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg DD1CAA49-62F1-4EFF-98A3-E8B12370A525.jpg (157.8 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg CEFE80C4-8BDA-4AAA-A6C5-01E19CC913E2.jpg (216.3 KB, 6 views)
Jamie23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 02:58 PM   #14
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: ND
Posts: 14
This is what it looks like, sometimes it is up to 17 volts
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 59EEA4CA-0692-472A-9EFD-54CA50BDF49C.jpg (116.1 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg 19028DA7-5716-4C41-9ED8-0FB42501F354.jpg (138.0 KB, 6 views)
Jamie23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 04:07 PM   #15
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 445
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
Looks like it reaches it's limit and shuts down the input. It says your are inputing 16.6 and that's also the cut off to save your batteries. Does it do anything other than give you the frowny face? Does it a affect your ability to use that charge?
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 07:04 PM   #16
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: ND
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead pirate View Post
Looks like it reaches it's limit and shuts down the input. It says your are inputing 16.6 and that's also the cut off to save your batteries. Does it do anything other than give you the frowny face? Does it a affect your ability to use that charge?
No, we can still run stuff, but is it supposed to do that? We have to unplug the positive on our solar from the charge controller for it to go back to good
Jamie23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 07:30 PM   #17
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 445
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
The only thing i can think of then is that the shut off isn't kicking in. Shutting off is its last ditch to save your batteries. The controller is either bad or the over charge limit needs to be set lower. Strange. But You said something about not being able to set it?
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 10:09 AM   #18
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: ND
Posts: 14
Yeah I was only able to set the settings for my batteries, also having the problem that it doesn’t show the arrows from the solar panel picture the batteries showing that it’s charging
Jamie23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 11:02 AM   #19
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 4,583
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
Rated Cap: 72
I looked at the instruction manual for the 4210a and found that the spec for max battery voltage is 16 volts. Exceeding that causes battery disconnect.


My question is: Why is it trying to feed your batteries 16.2 volts?

The troubleshooting section in the manual is pretty much useless.

If I were in your shoes, I would triple check the battery settings in the charge controller and if you don't find a problem with that then I would exchange the charge controller for a new one.
PNW_Steve is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
batteries, charge controller, electical, missing, solar

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.