Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-14-2018, 10:49 AM   #1

Solar System / Electrical Diagram Advice

Here is my solar system / electrical plan. I was looking for some feedback. I am by no means an electrician and any help is greatly appreciated.

The Blueprints

segurtj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 02:17 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
Rated Cap: 72
Looks pretty good to me.

I do see two items right off that cause me question. Perhaps I missed them?

1) I don't see any grounding of the negative side of your inverter. I don't know about Aimes but some do recommend grounding the negative battery to the chassis ground.

2) It looks to me like you have 6 x 12 volt batteries in series. That would yield a 72 volt battery bank.
PNW_Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 06:22 PM   #3

So are you saying that 72V of batteries will not be enough?
Old 02-14-2018, 06:32 PM   #4
Bus Geek

Well....

Finding a charge controller that will work with a 72 volt bank my be challenging as well as finding a 72 volt to 12 volt converter to support your 12 volt loads.

Most of us run 12 volt or 24 volt battery banks along with the odd duck who runs 48 volts.

If you take those 6 x 12 volt batteries and wire them in a series/parallel configuration you can obtain a 24 volt bank. You would connect pairs of 12v batteries in series strings giving you 3 x 24 volt strings. The connect the 3 x 24 volt strings in parallel. This will yield a 24 volt battery bank with 3 times the A/H capacity.

Take a look at this:https://www.batterystuff.com/kb/arti...-tutorial.html it may explain it in a bit more detail.
Old 02-14-2018, 06:33 PM   #5
Bus Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by segurtj View Post
So are you saying that 72V of batteries will not be enough?