Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-31-2015, 11:01 PM   #1
Skoolie

Starting my research. Not sure what to look for in busses.

Okay so I know what my required final build will be like, I just don't know what busses are available or what to look for in busses.

The idea for a Skoolie is to suit a custom RV to fit my requirements.
Durable, reliable, and safe. Once built done, I expect to have only regular maintenance to do for, well the remainder of my life. I am in my late 40s now...

I am a big guy, my wife is also nice and curvy, we need space. Including a nice comfortable king bed / storage area in the master suite.

I will be doing double duty with this bus, including potential for tour bus (I am also a musician, and my band is currently playing out at local venues, this has the potential to grow to regional).

Here is what I know...

#1. I want a Forward Control type of bus, no hood to have to look over all the time. Maximum interior space, minimized exterior dimensions.

#2. Master sleep section must accomodate king size bed.

#3. Comfortable, safe in travel seating for a maximum of 6 adults.

#4. Sleeping for 8 adults, including the 2 in the king bed. The others can be bunks, dinette conversions. HOWEVER if a dinette is used, it MUST be adjustable. Like I said, I am a big guy, A normal dinette is too tight for me.

#5. Full kitchen, bathroom, and shower facilities. Onboard washer / dryer stack wouldn't break my heart either.

#6. Full band gear currently fits in a 5x6x10 enclosed cargo trailer.

I am reasonably adept at woodworking, and auto repair, however RVs are something new to me.

So any pointers, and advice you might have to help me out would be great!

dbhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2015, 12:25 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: 190hp 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
Welcome