Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-30-2016, 09:54 AM   #1

thinking of converting one

im a college student in my last year of school. after college i want to go out and explore the united states for a while and live on a fairly modest budget. i've been looking at the skoolies. my plan is to live in one full time all year round. right now it is just a thought in my mind. i have been looking at buses with about 30 feet of living space so it would hopefully be short enough i could also haul my car around in an enclosed trailer with me.
since my plan is to live in it year round i am planning on insulating the entire bus and both the fresh water and waste water tanks then getting a diesel powered heater that can run from the fuel tank. and then using a window air conditioner in the summer.

for power my plan is to have about 100w of solar panels and enough batteries to have a 2 day supply if the weather gets bad. then have a diesel generator as backup.
i will probably add shocks and remove a leaf spring to get a smoother ride depending on how rough it is after getting it loaded.
my total budget would be about 20k for the entire conversion. Is this a possibility? any other recommendations?

Jimdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 10:17 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2000
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: Your mom +1