Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-13-2008, 07:11 AM   #1
Skoolie

Tow bars

I have no experience with tow bars, but am soon getting ready to cross the threshold. I'm wanting to make my own since I'm cheap, but I may just purchase one. Any tips, suggestions, do's or don'ts, what to look for or bear in mind?

reprobate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 09:57 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Re: Tow bars

Quote:
Originally Posted by reprobate
I have no experience with tow bars, but am soon getting ready to cross the threshold. I'm wanting to make my own since I'm cheap, but I may just purchase one. Any tips, suggestions, do's or don'ts, what to look for or bear in mind?
I'd generally be right there with you but in this case I think I'd definitely purchase a commercial tow bar. I think the possibility for problems (fitting, attachment, tracking, stability, strength, etc) and the liability issues involved are just too high to make building one a cheaper solution. I'd rather a company (with deeper pcokets than me if something goes wrong) have worked out the engineering and issues involved and tested it. I'd check on some of the RV sites since most motorhomes pull a toad and there's lots of info and experience there.

But that's just one take on it... Best wishes regardless!

Skoolie.net Gallery
Illusion's SmugMug site
Les Lampman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 10:04 AM   #3
Bus Nut

I think Jason (lapeer) made a home-made tow bar once a few years ago, and it didn't work out so well for him. I'll let him tell that story.

Him and I used my tow bar (reese brand - got out of the newspaper for $25 bucks) to tow my car with his bus about 6 months ago. At one point the hitch pin fell out.. which the tow bar was still attached to, and my car rear ended his bus. luckily we had chains or it could have been a lot worse.