Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2005, 07:31 PM   #11
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 238
well I went by and picked up that ups..specs are: SL Waber Powerhouse 250
250VA back-up power supply....max output current is 12 amps..it h as four plug ins with two being on the back-up and two as surge protected only. Only has a single 12V, 4Ah batt in it though (ok, I was hopeing for two but it did feel light)..I'll plug it in a see if the batt chares at all..the case has been broken (of 4 screws holding it together only one does), so that may be the only thing wrong with it.
Demonknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 11:08 PM   #12
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 9
I plan on doing the "UPS-as-Inverter" fairly soon.

(i've 3-4 ups's laying around)

I've already used a "car battery" with one.. increasing my 6 minutes of runtime to almost 1 hour of active computer use.

I do want to take advantage of the auto-transfer switch capability.
but i also worry about the charging.

I do plan to run the ups off of my house bank, and will be getting rid of my current converter for a (ghetto) 3-stage charger.

I cannot see how the UPS could be quick and/or efficient in charging a large bank (well someday a large one). and I'm worried that it's "trickle charge" will confuse my other charger into either shutting off or at the least going into float mode too early with a false recharged signal..

I've contacted APC's tech support.. they were happy to help.. but said help boiled down to "unplug it" D'oh!

I wont be doing this mod until spring, but i'll post what i learn, and wil check back for more from you guys

robert
koldei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 03:54 PM   #13
trx
Skoolie
 
trx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elk River, MN
Posts: 105
Year: 1988
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: Chevy C-60
Engine: 8.2L Turbo Detroit Diesel
Rated Cap: 77
Send a message via ICQ to trx
Has anyone found and documentation on the efficiency of UPS inverters? I have a large server UPS that seemed like a good idea at first to use as an inverter but that was a bust because it didn't support cold starts (starting up off batteries). Glad it was free. I also wondered how much extra power it used on communications & monitoring? The one I have looks like this. Since they are typically used only long enough to shut down your computer then I wonder if they try to make them efficient. No load draw could also be high. The one I have uses a large transformer which I suspect could hurt efficiency.

Chad
trx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 08:43 AM   #14
trx
Skoolie
 
trx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elk River, MN
Posts: 105
Year: 1988
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: Chevy C-60
Engine: 8.2L Turbo Detroit Diesel
Rated Cap: 77
Send a message via ICQ to trx
Yeah, we verified with the manufacturer that it does not support cold starts. Anyone want to buy a nice UPS? I did gain a couple nice batteries for my riding lawn mower.
trx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1 inverter and 3 outlets ThePimentals Electrical, Charging and Solar 17 09-25-2014 08:26 AM
Inverter FAQ's lornaschinske Conversion Tutorials and How-to's 4 08-13-2012 09:15 PM
new inverter/generator gbstewart Conversion General Discussions 3 12-17-2010 02:42 PM
What Inverter To Get? lapeer20m Conversion General Discussions 1 05-14-2010 01:31 PM
Why use an inverter? lapeer20m Conversion General Discussions 5 09-07-2008 06:01 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.