Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-06-2017, 04:08 PM   #1

Utter beginner looking for bus reccomendations.

Hello! My boyfriend and I recently started looking into making our own home in a repurposed school bus. Slight problem... we don't actually know all that much about buses to begin with. I figured I would slide on in here, and maybe get a little help as well as inspiration. My first real hurdle is what buses to even look at. My boyfriend is super tall, 6'4", so I know we need a raised roof. I would also prefer it to be a longer model, just because we have two pets and space will be important. [ and if it could tow a vehicle, that would be amazing... but not a deal breaker if it can't. ] Do you guys have any advice or recommendations for me? I started drawing out a floor plan, but then I realized: until I know the actual dimensions of the bus, what I plan might not even fit!

teamakesitbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 06:25 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Coachwork: 97 Bluebird TC1000 5.9
Welcome

The group here is good at figuring out what kind of bus fits you. We'll do our best to keep you away from trouble.

Are you making a live-in bus or are you making a weekend camper? Front engine, rear engine or dognose bus? Do you have an engine/transmission preference? Probably most important, do you have a place where you can park a 40' long bus while you're working on it without the neighbors causing problems?

It's always good to have new people in the group. Not that it's necessary, but what type of skills are you two bringing to your build? You don't have to have build skills but it helps. There's enough examples and photographs here to get you through anything you might want to do. You'll find an excess of opinions too.