Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2016, 01:33 AM   #11
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,402
Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison 545
Rated Cap: 2
i got my UPD line from here:

TacCom Data LLC

you can also look at Howardforums, where they trade phone lines.

HowardForums: Your Mobile Phone Community & Resource - HowardForums Home

the peeps from the link that timelord listed explain every bit of the process for you. i feel like i got my money's worth from them. i would not have gotten the line with out them.
__________________
.
Turfmobile Build Thread
turf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 07:46 AM   #12
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 7,950
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
Quote:
Originally Posted by turf View Post
my UDP is a "data only" plan through Verizon called the "loyalty plan". the line has the unlimited data, 30 minutes talk, and pay per text. because of the limits on talk and text, i use a cell phone from a different provider.

if you want talk and text, there are other plans available. a data only line made sense for me.

verizon doesnt seem to care if you swap sim cards between devices, but the line needs to activated/managed by a phone and not a hotspot. some vendors will supply the dummy phone for you, but i didnt think the cost was much to get my own.

i got a hotspot, but now there are some cool mobile routers, now that can take the sim card directly if you go that route.

the hotspot lets you connect 5 devices via wifi. the routers are more robust.

i got a mofi 4500 router for my house, and the hotspot tethers to that for my home service, or i can just take the hotspot on the bus and connect my wifi devices.
a MikroTik RB951G router with a verizon hotspot plugged into its USB port in tether mode will gice you 4G LTE WAN on a full-featured 1000 mw pro-style router.. you can do bandwidth shaping, have wired ports for IP phones, etc.. and much better wifi range if you are camling and want long range for your devices...

I use this set-up to run the server rack in my Bus Mobile DEV Lab..

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 10:53 AM   #13
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,402
Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison 545
Rated Cap: 2
Wifi-Ranger uses the mikrotik hardware like you say. however, WifiRanger says they have their own software to manage the mikrotik hardware.

i've never seen either user interface, but wifirangers's version is double the cost of just the mikrotik hardware.

https://wifiranger.com/shop/category/35-bundles

i havent upgraded to that yet, as my need for free wifi is diminished with my Unlimited Data Plan. anytime i'd have a signal for free wifi, i'm probably within cell service for the hotspot too. but if i had a metered data plan, the wifi ranger would make sense. if you're planning to mooch free wifi internet every night and only depend on your data plan for when the free isnt available.
__________________
.
Turfmobile Build Thread
turf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 11:26 AM   #14
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 7,950
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
I never used special software with my MikroTik.. the later versions of RouterOS use a web interface to program them. or you can do command line..

there is a Windows based program for MikroTik but its free and included with the software License...

I use MikroTik in the field for my business as well.. got hundreds installed.. I been working with MT since about 2003...

ive written a lot of scripts for MT.. one that does connect to Wi-Fi when my bus comes near any of certain known networks and uses that as its WAN..

since I build and test cloud solutions its perfect to have ever-changing connections to emulate customer site WAN failure and auto recovery and failover to LTE..

I never heard of the wifi ranger .. I guess i always just build my own stuff LOL
-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 12:45 PM   #15
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,402
Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison 545
Rated Cap: 2
wifi ranger is trying to fill the RV niche for internet connectivity. there is definitely a market for solutions. you can set the priority of each upstream connection, to take advantage of free wifi when availalbe.

someone could make a buck selling those solutions.

The internet RV group has been worthwhile in educating me on extending my home wifi out to the bus as well. i was getting no signal inside my metal bus or my metal garage, with their help, i set up a Ubiquity pico station to broadcast the home wifi signal strong enough to cover my whole property.
__________________
.
Turfmobile Build Thread
turf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 12:48 PM   #16
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 7,950
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
im a huge fan of ubiquiti products.. I have 3 AP's in my house and they rock

using scripts and queues on Mikrotik you can set up priority easily thats smart, remembers, networks, etc without expensive special software..

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 04:59 PM   #17
Skoolie
 
NowhereFast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 171
Year: 1995
Coachwork: International
Chassis: Carpenter
Engine: d466 mechanical
Turf did you have an existing plan with UDP?
Or a business account when getting the loyalty UDP?

I'm looking to purchase one and that seems to be a requirement for me to get one

Thanks
__________________
Nowhere Fast - Sarasota, Florida
NowhereFast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 05:27 PM   #18
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,402
Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison 545
Rated Cap: 2
neither.

i was a new customer for verizon. i believe they ran a credit check on me but after that came back i was good to go. the business or existing customer was not a roadblock for me, but i know what you're saying, i've seen those statements too.

doing business with the udp vendor i mentioned above was sketchy. he did a great job, got me the line, responded quickly to every text, however with all those rules you read...... it all just felt like a drug deal.

i shut up, put my faith in the guy, and he came through with a UDP.

i did have a minor roadblock with the AOL process. the first agent i talked to couldn't transfer the line leaving the UDP in place. i hung up, called back and got another agent that did the transfer without any problem.

i'm pretty happy with the line. its faster/cheaper than my old 3G provider.

__________________
.
Turfmobile Build Thread
turf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2016, 06:51 PM   #19
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
I've had a Verizon unlimited plan since they offered it. As of late, things have changed a bit. They are now charging an additional $20 a month and word is that if you go over 100 gig, they'll drop you. http://www.droid-life.com/2016/07/26...d/#more-189516

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
bgadient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2016, 11:41 PM   #20
Site Team
 
crazycal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgadient View Post
I've had a Verizon unlimited plan since they offered it. As of late, things have changed a bit. They are now charging an additional $20 a month and word is that if you go over 100 gig, they'll drop you. FYI: Your Verizon Unlimited Data Plan is No Longer Unlimited | Droid Life

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
I think watching over 100 gigs of porn with give you a heart attack. So losing your data plan may be the least of your worries.
__________________
I'm hungry!

You Gotta Let Me Fly
crazycal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.