Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2016, 04:53 PM   #1
Skoolie
 
NowhereFast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 171
Year: 1995
Coachwork: International
Chassis: Carpenter
Engine: d466 mechanical
Verizon Grandfathered Data Plan

Anyone have any experience with a grandfathered in Data plan form Verizon or AT&T?
How about purchasing and taking over someone's existing plan?
There's a plan for sale on eBay that's two lines unlimited data, talk and text. It's listed at $900 and after purchase you pay as little as $50 a month for the plan.
Okay that initially seems like a crazy price but I pay about $150 for two lines a month with little data. Whereas in a few months at that price id make my money back.

Anyone have experience in this? Or bought/sold their plans before?
__________________
Nowhere Fast - Sarasota, Florida
NowhereFast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 05:07 PM   #2
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,144
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
I didnt realize you could transfer the plans like that... i was always told by my verizon store that I could keep a plan as long as I wanted after it went away unless i changed the phone number or changed away from it (I could never go back to it if i ever changed it even though I once had it).. you may have different luck.. or it may be a scheister on Flea-Bay

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 05:19 PM   #3
Skoolie
 
NowhereFast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 171
Year: 1995
Coachwork: International
Chassis: Carpenter
Engine: d466 mechanical
It's a thing on many popular RV sites in regards to Internet on the road, so it's pretty legit. But, apparently it involves a decent process involved to do the switch. Needing a business account and what not with Verizon before going through with the AOL (assumption of liability).

Verizon is apparently contractually obligated by law to never throttle your usage on these plans, which makes them quite coveted. Less than 1% of all Verizon users have such a plan now. If you miss two payments in a row you're dropped; you must purchase all phones outright and are not eligible for phone payments.
They're looking for ways to drop people from the plan legally.
But, I mean for me the initial cost would be gone after 10 months of use. Just looking to see if anyone has done this before. It seems very interesting
__________________
Nowhere Fast - Sarasota, Florida
NowhereFast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 05:20 PM   #4
Skoolie
 
NowhereFast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 171
Year: 1995
Coachwork: International
Chassis: Carpenter
Engine: d466 mechanical
Also you can apparently lease the use of someone's plan for about $130 a month with unlimited data. Which is actually a good deal too
__________________
Nowhere Fast - Sarasota, Florida
NowhereFast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 05:32 PM   #5
Bus Crazy
 
turf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,599
Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison AT1545
Rated Cap: 2
i bought a Verizon unlimited data plan through a vendor of Verizon UDP's. i paid $500 upfront for the line and my monthly bill is $50.

from a different vendor, i purchased a hot spot, and a dummy phone to register the sim card with verizon.

i registered my assumed line with verizon on the dummy phone and then swapped sim cards into the hot spot. any changes or communication with verizon will need to be with the dummy phone and the registered sim card.

i gave up my primary home internet line for the verizon line. the speed is faster through the 4g-lte service, and i can take the hotspot with me for internet on the road.

at home i can plug the hot spot into my home router and tether my home internet through the router.



the AOL process is a bit sketchy but once your done and have that unlimited plan, you feel like you just got the holy grail.

this will pay for itself in less than a year for me. glad i did it.
__________________
.
Turfmobile Build Thread
turf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 05:52 PM   #6
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,144
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
cool stuff I never knew you could do that... I have never had a plan like that since I always got new phones all the time with subsidies in the past until I started getting smart-phones.. then i started the business and run the acconts through there...

with me using my bus as a Monile DEV lab it might be worth it for me to buy one of these... although the type of things i do it would take alot of data for me to rack up $900 to buy one of these plans then the admin fees to switch it over.... programming over SSH and SIP traffic doesnt burn up data too quick for me... even on a Heavy month im still at maybe 13 gigs... I get 8 included in my AT&T at full speed and then shared bucket of 20 on my verizon.. most months I use 5-10 max...

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 06:08 PM   #7
Bus Crazy
 
turf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,599
Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison AT1545
Rated Cap: 2
since it now monitors my entire internet usage its real easy to share. im running between 30 and 50 gigs/month.

@$50 a month, its a bargain.

i did forget to mention that i joined

https://www.rvmobileinternet.com/

their advice and help is worth the membership cost. that membership help me get the right gear, the AOL, and the UPD.
__________________
.
Turfmobile Build Thread
turf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 08:36 PM   #8
Skoolie
 
NowhereFast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 171
Year: 1995
Coachwork: International
Chassis: Carpenter
Engine: d466 mechanical
Turf,
Can you touch up more on the use of a hotspot and dummy phone compared to your phone on the UDP line?

Seems really worth it to me
__________________
Nowhere Fast - Sarasota, Florida
NowhereFast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 11:40 PM   #9
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 214
Year: 1997
Coachwork: AmTran
Chassis: Genesis
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 84
https://www.rvmobileinternet.com/res...ed-data-plans/
Timelord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 01:03 AM   #10
Bus Crazy
 
turf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,599
Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison AT1545
Rated Cap: 2
my UDP is a "data only" plan through Verizon called the "loyalty plan". the line has the unlimited data, 30 minutes talk, and pay per text. because of the limits on talk and text, i use a cell phone from a different provider.

if you want talk and text, there are other plans available. a data only line made sense for me.

verizon doesnt seem to care if you swap sim cards between devices, but the line needs to activated/managed by a phone and not a hotspot. some vendors will supply the dummy phone for you, but i didnt think the cost was much to get my own.

i got a hotspot, but now there are some cool mobile routers, now that can take the sim card directly if you go that route.

the hotspot lets you connect 5 devices via wifi. the routers are more robust.

i got a mofi 4500 router for my house, and the hotspot tethers to that for my home service, or i can just take the hotspot on the bus and connect my wifi devices.
__________________
.
Turfmobile Build Thread
turf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 01:33 AM   #11
Bus Crazy
 
turf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,599
Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison AT1545
Rated Cap: 2
i got my UPD line from here:

TacCom Data LLC

you can also look at Howardforums, where they trade phone lines.

HowardForums: Your Mobile Phone Community & Resource - HowardForums Home

the peeps from the link that timelord listed explain every bit of the process for you. i feel like i got my money's worth from them. i would not have gotten the line with out them.
__________________
.
Turfmobile Build Thread
turf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 07:46 AM   #12
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,144
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
Quote:
Originally Posted by turf View Post
my UDP is a "data only" plan through Verizon called the "loyalty plan". the line has the unlimited data, 30 minutes talk, and pay per text. because of the limits on talk and text, i use a cell phone from a different provider.

if you want talk and text, there are other plans available. a data only line made sense for me.

verizon doesnt seem to care if you swap sim cards between devices, but the line needs to activated/managed by a phone and not a hotspot. some vendors will supply the dummy phone for you, but i didnt think the cost was much to get my own.

i got a hotspot, but now there are some cool mobile routers, now that can take the sim card directly if you go that route.

the hotspot lets you connect 5 devices via wifi. the routers are more robust.

i got a mofi 4500 router for my house, and the hotspot tethers to that for my home service, or i can just take the hotspot on the bus and connect my wifi devices.
a MikroTik RB951G router with a verizon hotspot plugged into its USB port in tether mode will gice you 4G LTE WAN on a full-featured 1000 mw pro-style router.. you can do bandwidth shaping, have wired ports for IP phones, etc.. and much better wifi range if you are camling and want long range for your devices...

I use this set-up to run the server rack in my Bus Mobile DEV Lab..

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 10:53 AM   #13
Bus Crazy
 
turf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,599
Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison AT1545
Rated Cap: 2
Wifi-Ranger uses the mikrotik hardware like you say. however, WifiRanger says they have their own software to manage the mikrotik hardware.

i've never seen either user interface, but wifirangers's version is double the cost of just the mikrotik hardware.

https://wifiranger.com/shop/category/35-bundles

i havent upgraded to that yet, as my need for free wifi is diminished with my Unlimited Data Plan. anytime i'd have a signal for free wifi, i'm probably within cell service for the hotspot too. but if i had a metered data plan, the wifi ranger would make sense. if you're planning to mooch free wifi internet every night and only depend on your data plan for when the free isnt available.
__________________
.
Turfmobile Build Thread
turf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 11:26 AM   #14
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,144
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
I never used special software with my MikroTik.. the later versions of RouterOS use a web interface to program them. or you can do command line..

there is a Windows based program for MikroTik but its free and included with the software License...

I use MikroTik in the field for my business as well.. got hundreds installed.. I been working with MT since about 2003...

ive written a lot of scripts for MT.. one that does connect to Wi-Fi when my bus comes near any of certain known networks and uses that as its WAN..

since I build and test cloud solutions its perfect to have ever-changing connections to emulate customer site WAN failure and auto recovery and failover to LTE..

I never heard of the wifi ranger .. I guess i always just build my own stuff LOL
-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 12:45 PM   #15
Bus Crazy
 
turf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,599
Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison AT1545
Rated Cap: 2
wifi ranger is trying to fill the RV niche for internet connectivity. there is definitely a market for solutions. you can set the priority of each upstream connection, to take advantage of free wifi when availalbe.

someone could make a buck selling those solutions.

The internet RV group has been worthwhile in educating me on extending my home wifi out to the bus as well. i was getting no signal inside my metal bus or my metal garage, with their help, i set up a Ubiquity pico station to broadcast the home wifi signal strong enough to cover my whole property.
__________________
.
Turfmobile Build Thread
turf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 12:48 PM   #16
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,144
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
im a huge fan of ubiquiti products.. I have 3 AP's in my house and they rock

using scripts and queues on Mikrotik you can set up priority easily thats smart, remembers, networks, etc without expensive special software..

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 04:59 PM   #17
Skoolie
 
NowhereFast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 171
Year: 1995
Coachwork: International
Chassis: Carpenter
Engine: d466 mechanical
Turf did you have an existing plan with UDP?
Or a business account when getting the loyalty UDP?

I'm looking to purchase one and that seems to be a requirement for me to get one

Thanks
__________________
Nowhere Fast - Sarasota, Florida
NowhereFast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 05:27 PM   #18
Bus Crazy
 
turf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,599
Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison AT1545
Rated Cap: 2
neither.

i was a new customer for verizon. i believe they ran a credit check on me but after that came back i was good to go. the business or existing customer was not a roadblock for me, but i know what you're saying, i've seen those statements too.

doing business with the udp vendor i mentioned above was sketchy. he did a great job, got me the line, responded quickly to every text, however with all those rules you read...... it all just felt like a drug deal.

i shut up, put my faith in the guy, and he came through with a UDP.

i did have a minor roadblock with the AOL process. the first agent i talked to couldn't transfer the line leaving the UDP in place. i hung up, called back and got another agent that did the transfer without any problem.

i'm pretty happy with the line. its faster/cheaper than my old 3G provider.

__________________
.
Turfmobile Build Thread
turf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2016, 06:51 PM   #19
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
I've had a Verizon unlimited plan since they offered it. As of late, things have changed a bit. They are now charging an additional $20 a month and word is that if you go over 100 gig, they'll drop you. http://www.droid-life.com/2016/07/26...d/#more-189516

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
bgadient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2016, 11:41 PM   #20
Site Team
 
crazycal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NUNYA
Posts: 4,234
Year: 1995
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: 3800
Engine: DT408, AT545
Rated Cap: 23 500 gvw
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgadient View Post
I've had a Verizon unlimited plan since they offered it. As of late, things have changed a bit. They are now charging an additional $20 a month and word is that if you go over 100 gig, they'll drop you. FYI: Your Verizon Unlimited Data Plan is No Longer Unlimited | Droid Life

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
I think watching over 100 gigs of porn with give you a heart attack. So losing your data plan may be the least of your worries.
__________________
I'm hungry!

You Gotta Let Me Fly
crazycal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×