Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-25-2016, 07:14 AM   #1

Smile What do you need in order to drive a old converted school bus around America

Hi everyone, new to he whole subject so don't be to harsh. Can someone lay it on me of what I need to get in order to legally drive say a bus in correlation to the seat numbers? I want it small to mid size, I will be ripping out most seats for beds and just leaving about 4-5 seats...do I need seat belts ect...I'm a newb

jakedmuir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 08:36 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1989
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Saf-T-Liner ER
Engine: 3208 CAT/MT643 tranny
Rated Cap: 87
Licensing goes by weight, not by number of seats. If the gross weight of the bus is under 26,001 pounds, and has hydraulic brakes, then a standard driver's license is all that is required. Air brakes, or a weight greater than 26,000 gross pounds, then at the least you will need a class "B" license to legally drive the vehicle according to federal motor law.
Old 08-25-2016, 09:01 AM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 3116 Cat 250hp
Rated Cap: Just the two of us.
Quote:
Originally Posted by M1031A1 View Post
Licensing goes by weight, not by number of seats. If the gross weight of the bus is under 26,001 pounds, and has hydraulic brakes, then a standard driver's license is all that is required. Air brakes, or a weight greater than 26,000 gross pounds, then at the least you will need a class "B" license to legally drive the vehicle according to federal motor law.
Pretty sure that's a Texas thing even if it's licensed as an RV. Licensing goes by state you live in. If it's licensed as an "RV" or what ever your state calls it, in most states all you need is a regular drivers license.
somewhereinusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 11:38 AM   #4
Bus Crazy

Year: 2000
Chassis: Blue Bird