Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-03-2016, 03:21 PM   #1

What was your budget?

Does anyone mind sharing how much they ended up spending on their skoolie? Time and money, start to finish! We might be able to work with around a $9000 budget, I have most of the tools that I will need, and I have a lot of construction experience. Ideally we will be finished by (or atleast livable) by March 1st.

Also, why is Skoolie coming up as a typo on skoolie.net?!?

nmarne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2016, 04:27 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 3116 Cat 250hp
Rated Cap: Just the two of us.
$26,700 including cost of bus, time doesn't count.
somewhereinusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2016, 06:29 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1988
Coachwork: Crown / Pusher
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
I've found since starting my project a budget only constrains me, I just tell the wife ,Gotta have can't stop now
Stu & Filo. T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2016, 07:27 PM   #4
Bus Nut

Year: 1996
Chassis: thomas
Engine: 8.3 cummins
Rated Cap: 11 window
im at 10 grand now, hope to only spend another 10 to finish

superdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2016, 07:55 PM   #5
Almost There

Year: 1976
Coachwork: Crown
Engine: Detroit Diesel 6-71
Rated Cap: 52 pax
So far I have spent only $5500, but I just started. I'm in serious build mode now so that number will climb quickly!
Old 11-03-2016, 08:11 PM   #6
Bus Crazy

Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison AT1545
Rated Cap: 2
i'm north of $20k.
i put about 5k a year into it, took 4 years to finish.
Old 11-03-2016, 08:26 PM   #7
Bus Crazy

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Eldorado Aerotech 24'
Chassis: Ford E-450 Cutaway Bus
Engine: 7.3L Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 19
My budget was $5000. In the fullness of time that expanded to $15,000.
Old 11-03-2016, 09:20 PM   #8
Bus Nut