Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-11-2012, 09:31 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

1997 Thomas conversion

I'm thinking about looking at this bus later in the week. Price looks high to me, but I am no expert. What do you all think.

I appreciate any feedback.

http://nashville.craigslist.org/rvs/2886124992.html

jvhooser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:26 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Re: 1997 Thomas conversion

I don't think the price is high... try building one for the same cost.. It's a very good conversion,
Old 03-12-2012, 12:22 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1984
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: All American
Engine: 3208 na boat anchor
Rated Cap: 2

Yeah, I'm with chev. That's a beautiful conversion. The under $10,000 dollars rule for a skoolie conversion is for something like my bus, and in that case the rule should be under $5,000.
bus-bro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 02:04 PM   #4
Bus Nut

Year: 1992
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: All American RE
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72

I'm with chev and bus-bro, looks like a solid build to me. And for a fraction of the money. I'd take a run at it if I did not already have my own bus.
syke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:06 PM   #5
Bus Crazy

Year: 1996
Coachwork: Champion
Chassis: Ford e-450
Engine: 7.3 Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 14

Looks like a great deal. Plus you can do something that none of us get to do- using it right away. Speaking for the 99%-it takes between 1+ 3 years to build a bus-and cost twice to three times what we thought it would-even doing all our own work + buying everything off CL.
You couldn't duplicate that bus for $14k.

my bus build https://www.skoolie.net/gallery/Skoolies/Sped
sdwarf36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:40 PM   #6
Mini-Skoolie