Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-17-2019, 06:53 PM   #1

Advice on choosing a bus...

I'm new to the skoolie movement, although I've been aiming to make this change for quite some time...

I wanted to ask all of you pro's on here to offer your opinions when it comes to looking for a potential future home..

Our preferences:
-a 35'-40' bus
-we want to do a lot of USA/Canada travel, especially national parks
-we want to raise the roof to be about 8' tall
-we want the least amount of rust on the body as possible
-we don't mind replacing mechanical parts, especially having the piece of mind of knowing what is in good condition

So what are your thoughts and opinions on things like:

-What years would you aim to look for/stay away from?
-Diesel vs. Gas
-Brands of buses, are there any that have well known issues?
-What issues are worth overlooking in a potential purchase?
-What aren't?

I'm trying to get a feel for what people believe to be the best bus as far as bang for your buck/effort..

All tips appreciated

d_e_steckel2017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 09:05 PM   #2
Bus Nut

For what you want in a bus :

-35-40 feet will be a full-length bus. Figure out if you want a dognose (with a hood in front), or a flatnose (probably with the engine in the rear.) A lot of the "better" buses are flatnose with a rear engine.

-You're planning on a roof raise, which means you don't need to worry about finding a high-headroom model in the first place.
-Tall, heavy, full-size bus, you're going to want a diesel.
-You don't want an AT545 transmission.

I would keep in mind that a 40' bus with a roof raise to 8 feet might not fit in all of the national parks (Or, at least, it will be more limited in where it will fit.) Others can chime in more about that.