Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-16-2017, 09:06 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Question Looking for a bus that runs well

I'm just beginning my first skoolie project: a rolling massage studio. I'm a licensed massage therapist and for reasons too weird and long to explain, I'm hoping to base my practice out of a bus fitted out to be a massage studio inside, and drive to my clients instead of making them come to where I am.

I'm deeply afraid of getting something which isn't going to run very well or for very long, after I've put the work and money into rehabbing it, so I'm hoping for the best mechanical condition I can afford, though I'm still starting out and not sure how good that'll be. I'm completely okay with external dings; this is all about the way it functions, not the way it looks. (I can make it look good enough, if necessary, in the renovation process.) I'm also looking for something which I can legally take into Canada if possible.

Anyone trying to sell a bus that might work for me? Anyone run across one they're not buying themselves, but which I might find a good fit for this project? Anyone able to help me understand what I can do to make sure I find out about any mechanical problems that exist before I spend thousands of dollars on a bus that'll fall apart under me?

I'm a wee bit nervous about this whole thing... but the bus idea is too good a fit for what I'm trying to accomplish, to let it go without making the attempt.

[EDIT: Okay, I was stupid and left out some of the basics. I'm in western Washington state. Email via this site is probably the easiest way to reach me. And I absolutely need automatic transmission in my bus... I've never learned how to drive a manual ANYTHING. Thank you!]

PocketNaomi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2017, 09:22 PM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 1995
Coachwork: Thomas
Engine: 8.3 Cummins, 643
What Length