Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-29-2004, 01:39 AM   #1

Searching for the right short bus

I am a single homeschooling mom who loves to camp and have been tent camping since my youth.....my daughter prefers the more modern conveniences that a camper or motorhome would provide....I am just beginning my search for a short skoolie that I can convert for camping trips, travel, and possibly even some full time living while homeschooling on the road.
I am fairly handy (my father raised four girls and being the oldest I usually got the job of assisting in home repairs, car repairs, etc) and what I don't know how to do I can usually learn via manuals and instruction.
I do not have a great deal of money to start with, and want to find an inexpensive bus that I can work on in progressive steps.
I live in Indiana and would prefer to find something close. Any suggestions of where to begin my search?
I have lurked for a while and several posts indicate that people have purchased buses for between $700 and $1500, is this realistic or just luck? I have so many questions, but really want to seriously begin my search, especially with tax return time upon us (I intend to use my refund for this purchase) I still have a great deal of exploration of this site so I am sure I can find many of my questions answered but any initial advice would be appreciated.
Thanks!

jenonajourney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 10:50 AM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Welcome

Welcome to the wonderful world of looking at camper buses.

If you've been lurking, you have probably figured this out, but bus people are generally just plain nice - and they love talking about buses.

Good luck in your searching, and I'm sure you'll find something great.

Paul
PRyberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2004, 08:05 AM   #3
Bus Geek